Skip to main content
Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.cise@nsf.gov.


Search Again

80 items found, displaying 1 to 20.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 [Next/Last]
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Wright State University
Cyber Security Research at Wright State University
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Dayton, Ohio
Primary: Junjie Zhang
(937) 775-5015
junjie.zhang@wright.edu
Secondary: Bin Wang
(937) 775-5115
bin.wang@wright.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Intrusion detection, wireless sensor network security, malware analysis, software reverse engineering, privacy-preserving data mining
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Education and Human Resources
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Interdisciplinary data science research for safe, sustainable and healthy communities
Computer Science Department (Data Science Program)
Worcester, Massachusetts
Primary: Elke Rundensteiner
(508) 831-5815
rundenst@wpi.edu
Secondary: Fatemeh Emdad
(508) 831-5303
femdad@wpi.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data science, smart and connected communities, health analytics, sustainability, cybersecurity, social media, data mining, machine learning, big data management, visualization, statistical learning
Abstract of Award
Washington University in St. Louis
Big Data Analytics
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
St. Louis, Missouri
Primary: Ruth Miller
ruth.miller@wustl.edu
Secondary: Sanmay Das
(314) 935-4274
sanmay@wustl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Machine learning, data science, artificial intelligence, parallel computing for big data, big data in computer vision, computational biology, and multi-agent systems applications
Abstract of Award
Washington State University
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Smart Environments
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Pullman, Washington
Primary: Larry Holder
(509) 335-6138
holder@wsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computer Science, Smart Environments, Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, Data Mining, Pervasive Computing, Energy Efficiency, Psychology, Medical and Health Technologies
Abstract of Award
Washington State University
New Generation Power-efficient Computer Systems Design
School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Pullman, Washington
Primary: Behrooz Shirazi
(509) 335-8148
shirazi@wsu.edu
Secondary: Partha Pratim Pande
(504) 335-5223
Pande@eecs.wsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Multicore computing, HPC, power efficient computer architecture
Abstract of Award
University of Wisconsin - Stout
Interdisciplinary Research Experiences in Robotics for Assistive Technology
Department of Engineering and Technology
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Primary: Wei Shi
(715) 232-3298
shiw@uwstout.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Robotics, control systems, assistive technology and vocational rehabilitation, human-machine communication, mobile and wireless control robot design, manufacturing engineering
Abstract of Award
University of Texas - Dallas
REU Site: Software Safety: Research, Practice and a Path Forward
Computer Science
Richardson, Texas
Primary: Eric Wong
(972) 883-6619
ewong@utdallas.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: software safety,quality assurance, verification and validation, cost effectiveness,safety standard and evolution
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
University of Texas - Austin
Extensible Undergraduate Research Experience in Communications Applications (EURECA)
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Austin, Texas
Primary: Sriram Vishwanath
(512) 471-1190
sriram@ece.utexas.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Wireless networking, communications, signal processing, image and video processing, control systems
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
University of Texas at Austin
REU Site: Integrative Computational Education and Research Traineeship
Texas Advanced Computing Center (TACC)
Austin, Texas
Primary: Rosalia Gomez
(512) 471-6785
icertreu@tacc.utexas.edu
Secondary: Marques Bland
(512) 475-9296
mbland@tacc.utexas.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Misfolded proteins, molecular dynamics, RNA-protein, cellular regulation, phenotypes, neuroimaging, computational science, viualization,electromagnetic fields, parallel programming, astrophysics
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN
CSURE, Computational Sciences for Undergraduate Research Experiences
Joint Institute for Computational Sciences (JICS)
Knoxville, Tennessee
Primary: Kwai Wong
(865) 974-8833
kwong@utk.edu
Secondary: Gregory Peterson
(865) 241-0080
gdp@utk.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry and materials sciences, systems biology, engineering mechanics, atmospheric sciences, and parallel solvers on emergent platforms,computational modeling
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
University of South Florida in collaboration with Universidad de Oviedo, Spain
REU Site on Ubiquitous Sensing
Computer Science and Engineering
Oviedo, Florida
Primary: Dr. Miguel A. Labrador
(813) 974-3260
labrador@cse.usf.edu
Secondary: Dr. Yu Sun
(813) 974-7508
yusun@cse.usf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Participatory Sensing, Human-Centric Sensing, Location-Based Services, international Site, Study Abroad
Abstract of Award
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Thomas H Jordan
213-821-1237
tjordan@usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: object-oriented, open-source, internet- enabled software, interactive, 4D display, earthquake
Abstract of Award
University of Southern California
REU Site: Research in Interactive Virtual Experiences
Institute for Creative Technologies
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Evan Suma
(310) 448-5311
suma@ict.usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Virtual Reality, Human-Computer Interaction, Virtual Humans, Graphics, Natural Language Understanding
Abstract of Award
University of Notre Dame
DISC: Data Intensive Scientific Computing
Center for Research Computing
Notre Dame, Indiana
Primary: Kallie O'Connel
(574) 631-4009
koconne8@nd.edu
Secondary: Douglas Thain
(574) 631-6845
dthain@nd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: scientific computing, high performance computing, big data analytics, particle physics, astrophysics, bioinformatics, gene sequencing, computational epidemiology
Abstract of Award
Denton, Texas
Primary: Renee Bryce
(940) 565-4176
Renee.Bryce@unt.edu
Secondary: Hassan Takabi
(940) 565-2385
Hassan.Takabi@unt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Software Testing, Security, Web Applications, Mobile Applications
Abstract of Award
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Primary: Ronald Marsh
(701) 777-4013
rmarsh@cs.und.edu
Secondary: David Whalen
(701) 777-3558
whalen@space.und.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Image processing/superresolution, communications cybersecurity, safety critical system model based validation, system engineering validation, distribution data processing on a cluster of space craft
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
Charlotte, North Carolina
Primary: Jamie Payton
(704) 687-8188
payton@uncc.edu
Secondary: Richard Souvenir
(704) 687-8554
souvenir@uncc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Pervasive computing, computer vision, machine learning for image and video analysis, crowdsensing, activity recognition, human-computer interaction; projects emphasize socially relevant computing
Abstract of Award
University of Missouri - Columbia
Undergraduate Research in Consumer Networking Technologies
Department of Computer Science
Columbia, Missouri
Primary: Yi Shang
(573) 884-7794
shangy@missouri.edu
Secondary: Wenjun (Kevin) Zeng
(573) 882-4480
zengw@missouri.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Software-defined networking, social media computing, social health networking for eldercare, body-area sensing and emotion recognition, and network performance optimization
Abstract of Award
University of Minnesota
Computational Methods for Discovery Driven by Big Data
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Primary: Daniel Boley
(612) 625-3887
boley@umn.edu
Secondary: Amy Larson
(612) 625-9088
lars1050@umn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: machine learning, virtual social behaviors, immersive virtual environments, mobile cloud platforms, biological networks, Earth climate analysis using graph-based methods
Abstract of Award
Lowell, Massachusetts
Primary: Xinwen Fu
(605) 270-9427
xinwenfu@cs.uml.edu
Secondary: Kate Saenko
(978) 934-3620
saenko@cs.uml.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Project 1:Threats against human-action modalities Project 2:Defense of human-action modalities Project 3:Threats against computer sensing modalities Project 4:Defense of computer sensing modalities
Abstract of Award
80 items found, displaying 1 to 20.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 [Next/Last]

 

Back to Top of page