text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation


REU Sites

REU Sites: Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.cise@nsf.gov.

66 items found, displaying 1 to 20.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 [Next/Last]
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Washington State University
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Smart Environments
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Pullman, Washington
Primary: Larry Holder
(509) 335-6138
holder@wsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computer Science, Smart Environments, Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, Data Mining, Pervasive Computing, Energy Efficiency, Psychology, Medical and Health Technologies
Abstract of Award
Washington State University
New Generation Power-efficient Computer Systems Design
School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Pullman, Washington
Primary: Behrooz Shirazi
(509) 335-8148
shirazi@wsu.edu
Secondary: Partha Pratim Pande
(504) 335-5223
Pande@eecs.wsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Multicore computing, HPC, power efficient computer architecture
Abstract of Award
University of Texas - El Paso
UTEP REU Summer Program in Applied Intelligent Systems
Computer Science
El Paso, Texas
Primary: Olac Fuentes
(915) 747-6956
ofuentes@utep.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computer vision, machine learning, natural language processing, data mining, optimization
Abstract of Award
University of Texas - Dallas
REU Site: Software Safety: Research, Practice and a Path Forward
Computer Science
Richardson, Texas
Primary: Eric Wong
(972) 883-6619
ewong@utdallas.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: software safety,quality assurance, verification and validation, cost effectiveness,safety standard and evolution
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
University of Texas - Austin
Extensible Undergraduate Research Experience in Communications Applications (EURECA)
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Austin, Texas
Primary: Sriram Vishwanath
(512) 471-1190
sriram@ece.utexas.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Wireless networking, communications, signal processing, image and video processing, control systems
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN
CSURE, Computational Sciences for Undergraduate Research Experiences
Joint Institute for Computational Sciences (JICS)
Knoxville, Tennessee
Primary: Kwai Wong
(865) 974-8833
kwong@utk.edu
Secondary: Gregory Peterson
(865) 241-0080
gdp@utk.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Chemistry and materials sciences, systems biology, engineering mechanics, atmospheric sciences, and parallel solvers on emergent platforms,computational modeling
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
University of South Florida
REU Site on Ubiquitous Sensing
Computer Science and Engineering
Tampa, Florida
Primary: Dr. Miguel A. Labrador
(813) 974-3260
labrador@cse.usf.edu
Secondary: Dr. Yu Sun
(813) 974-7508
yusun@cse.usf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Participatory Sensing, Human-Centric Sensing, Location-Based Services
Abstract of Award
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Thomas H Jordan
213-821-1237
tjordan@usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: object-oriented, open-source, internet- enabled software, interactive, 4D display, earthquake
Abstract of Award
University of Southern California
REU Site: Research in Interactive Virtual Experiences
Institute for Creative Technologies
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Evan Suma
(310) 448-5311
suma@ict.usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Virtual Reality, Human-Computer Interaction, Virtual Humans, Graphics, Natural Language Understanding
Abstract of Award
Denton, Texas
Primary: Renee Bryce
(940) 565-4176
Renee.Bryce@unt.edu
Secondary: Hassan Takabi
(940) 565-2385
Hassan.Takabi@unt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Software Testing, Security, Web Applications, Mobile Applications
Abstract of Award
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Primary: Ronald Marsh
(701) 777-4013
rmarsh@cs.und.edu
Secondary: David Whalen
(701) 777-3558
whalen@space.und.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Image processing/superresolution, communications cybersecurity, safety critical system model based validation, system engineering validation, distribution data processing on a cluster of space craft
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering, Department of Defense (DoD)
Charlotte, North Carolina
Primary: Aubrae Collins
704-687-8954
aubrae.collins@uncc.edu
Secondary: Jamie Payton
704-687-8188
payton@uncc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computer vision, information visualization and visual analytics, pervasive computing, participatory sensing, human-computer interaction, serious games, social networks, privacy
Abstract of Award
Charlotte, North Carolina
Primary: Jamie Payton
(704) 687-8188
payton@uncc.edu
Secondary: Richard Souvenir
(704) 687-8554
souvenir@uncc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Pervasive computing, computer vision, machine learning for image and video analysis, crowdsensing, activity recognition, human-computer interaction; projects emphasize socially relevant computing
Abstract of Award
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
The UNC CAP (Computational Astronomy and Physics) Program: UNCCAPing Enthusiasm for Computational Careers
Department of Physics & Astronomy
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Primary: Sheila Kannappan
(919) 962-3486
capprogram@unc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational Science, Astronomy and Physics
Comments: The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill will host a ten-week Computational Astronomy and Physics (CAP) Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU) summer program.
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Astronomical Sciences, Physics
University of Missouri - Columbia
Undergraduate Research in Consumer Networking Technologies
Department of Computer Science
Columbia, Missouri
Primary: Yi Shang
(573) 884-7794
shangy@missouri.edu
Secondary: Wenjun (Kevin) Zeng
(573) 882-4480
zengw@missouri.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Software-defined networking, social media computing, social health networking for eldercare, body-area sensing and emotion recognition, and network performance optimization
Abstract of Award
University of Massachusetts- Lowell
REU Site: Research on Biomedical Informatics.
Department of Computer Science
Lowell, Massachusetts
Primary: Yu Cao
(978) 934-3628
ycao@cs.uml.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Biomedical Big Data Acquisition, Transmission, Analysis, Indexing, Retrieval, High Performance Computing Infrastructure for Biomedical Big Data
Abstract of Award
Lowell, Massachusetts
Primary: Xinwen Fu
(605) 270-9427
xinwenfu@cs.uml.edu
Secondary: Kate Saenko
(978) 934-3620
saenko@cs.uml.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Project 1:Threats against human-action modalities Project 2:Defense of human-action modalities Project 3:Threats against computer sensing modalities Project 4:Defense of computer sensing modalities
Abstract of Award
University of Massachusetts Amherst
REUMass: A Summer Computing Research Experience in Data Science
Department of Computer Science
Amherst, Massachusetts
Primary: Prof. David Jensen
(413) 545-9677
reu@cs.umass.edu
Secondary: Ms. Leeanne LeClerc
(413) 545-3640
leclerc@cs.umass.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data science including applications (computational social science, mobile health, etc.), data analytics (machine learning, NLP, etc.), and infrastructure (databases, cloud computing, etc.).
Abstract of Award
University of Maryland
CARR: Combinatorial Algorithms Applied Research
Computer Science
College Park, Maryland
Primary: Samir Khuller
(301) 405-2712
samir@cs.umd.edu
Secondary: William Gasarch
(301) 405-2698
gasarch@cs.umd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Crytography, Security, Algorithms for SAT, Ramsey Theory, Programming Games, Algorithms for Auctions.
Abstract of Award
University of Illinois
REU Site: Passionate on Parallel
Coordinated Science Laboratory
Urbana, Illinois
Primary: Jill Peckham
217-265-5292
jpeckham@illinois.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: parallel programming, economics, atmospheric sciences
Abstract of Award
66 items found, displaying 1 to 20.[First/Prev] 1 2 3 4 [Next/Last]

Search Again

 

Back to Top of page