Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.cise@nsf.gov.


Search Again

REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
New York Institute of Technology
REU Site: Research on Security of Mobile Devices and Wireless Networks at NYIT
School of Engineering and Computing Sciences
New York, New York
Primary: Ziqian (Cecilia) Dong
(646) 273-6129
ziqian.dong@nyit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: mobile device and wireless network security including user authentication, cryptography, botnets, detection of physical attack, geolocation, privacy, and wireless network topology control
Abstract of Award
North Carolina A&T State University
REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Cyber Identity
Department of Computer Science
Greensboro, North Carolina
Primary: Kaushik Roy
(336) 285-3691
kroy@ncat.edu
Secondary: Albert C. Esterline
(336) 285-3694
esterlin@ncat.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational Framework for Identity, Extending the Use of WebIDs, Author Identification, Mitigating Replay Attacks, Web Client Identification, Cyber Threat Identification
Abstract of Award
North Carolina A&T State University
Engineering Modeling and Computational Research
College of Engineering
Greensboro, North Carolina
Primary: Bala Ram
(336) 285-2645
ram@ncat.edu
Secondary: Marcia Williams
(336) 285-2651
marcia@ncat.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Shock motion in supersonic vehicles, hydrologic simulation, biomechanics, humanitarian logistics, analysis of soft gels, energy efficiency of buildings, and non-destructive testing
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
North Carolina State University
Science of Software
Department of Computer Science
Raleigh, North Carolina
Primary: Chris Parnin
(919) 515-2042
cjparnin@ncsu.edu
Secondary: Sarah Heckman
(919) 515-2042
sarah_heckman@ncsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Software analytics, machine learning, data exploration in virtual reality, data engineering, data mining,quantified-self, and productivity analysis
Abstract of Award
North Carolina State University
Socially Relevant Computing and Analytics
Department of Computer Science
Raleigh, North Carolina
Primary: Tiffany Barnes
(919) 523-1353
tiffany.barnes@gmail.com
Secondary: Veronica Catete
(919) 820-2578
vmcatete@ncsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Analytics & machine learning for education, healthcare, and graph-based learning; serious games; narrative & interactive visual media; tools for computational creativity; canine-computer interaction
Abstract of Award
Northeastern University
Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Data Driven Discovery (REU-D3)
Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Boston, Massachusetts
Primary: Melanie Smith
(617) 373-2976
m.smith@neu.edu
Secondary: David Kaeli (PI)
(617) 373-5413
kaeli@ece.neu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data analytics, data visualization, parallel computing, big data, engineering and computer science applications, mentoring
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Rochester, Michigan
Primary: Huirong Fu
(248) 370-4456
fu@oakland.edu
Secondary: Tao Shu
(248) 370-2137
shu@oakland.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Network and Communications Security, Software Security, Systems Security, Cloud Security, and Trust, Security and Privacy in Social Networks
Abstract of Award
Oklahoma State University
Big Data Analytics at Oklahoma State University
Computer Science Department
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Primary: D. Eric Chan-Tin
(405) 744-5273
chantin@cs.okstate.edu
Secondary: K. M George
(405) 744-5221
kmg@cs.okstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Attacks on privacy-enhancing technologies, adversarial machine learning, well drilling speed prediction, visual data analytics, twitter data analytics, computer vision
Abstract of Award
Old Dominion University
Cybersecurity Research in a Multidisciplinary Environment
Center for Cybersecurity Education and Research, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Norfolk, Virginia
Primary: Chunsheng Xin
(757) 683-5294
cxin@odu.edu
Secondary: Khan Iftekharuddin
(757) 683-3741
kiftekha@odu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cloud security, security and privacy in social networks, malware analysis, wireless network security, intrusion detection, human behavior in security, cybersecurity ethics, face recognition
Abstract of Award
Oregon State University
Eco-Informatics Summer Institute (EISI)
Biological and Ecological Engineering
Corvallis, Oregon
Primary: Cara Walter
cara.walter@oregonstate.edu
Secondary: Desiree D Tullos
(541) 737-2038
desiree.tullos@oregonstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Plant-pollinator networks, salmonid bioenergetics, fish bioenergetics, mathematics,statistics, computer science, ecology, engineering
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Cyberinfrastructure, Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Oregon State University
Socially Relevant Computing and Analytics
School of Mechanical, Industrial, and Manufacturing Engineering
Corvallis, Oregon
Primary: Cindy M. Grimm
(541) 737-4914
cindy.grimm@oregonstate.edu
Secondary: William D. Smart
(541) 737-0670
bill.smart@oregonstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Robotics, human-robot interaction, dynamics and controls, machine learning, multi-agent learning, reinforcement learning, privacy
Abstract of Award
Purdue University Calumet
REU Site: Sustainable Wireless Communication
Department of Mathematics, Computer Science, and Statistics
Hammond, Indiana
Primary: Shuhui Yang
(219) 989-2697
yang246@purdue.edu
Secondary: Michael Tu
(219) 989-2035
Michael.Tu@pnw.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Sustainable wireless communication, spectrum-efficent communication, energy-efficient data dissemination, wireless security, delay tolerant network.
Abstract of Award
Rochester Institute of Technology
"REU Site: Accessible Multimodal Interfaces"
Information and Computing Studies
Rochester, New York
Primary: Raja Kushalnagar
(585) 286-3333
rskics@rit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: accessible computing, human centered computing, user interface and user experience, natural language understanding
Abstract of Award
Rochester Institute of Technology
REU Site: Computational Sensing
Department of Computer Science and College of Liberal Arts
Rochester, New York
Primary: Cecilia Ovesdotter Alm
(585) 475-7327
coagla@rit.edu
Secondary: Reynold Bailey
(585) 475-6181
rjb@cs.rit.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Acquisition, fusion, analysis, and interpretation of multisource sensing data related to humans, language, social network/environment signals, emotion-creative reactions, physical states/actions
Abstract of Award
Piscataway, New Jersey
Primary: Lazaros Gallos
(848) 445-0075
lgallos@dimacs.rutgers.edu
Secondary: Rebecca Wright
(848) 445-2001
rebecca.wright@rutgers.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Discrete mathematics, computer science, statistics, biomathematics, biomedical applications, homeland security applications
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
Salisbury University
REU Site: EXERCISE - Explore Emerging Computing in Science and Engineering
Department of Mathematics and Computer Science
Salisbury, Maryland
Primary: Enyue (Annie) Lu
(410) 543-6144
ealu@salisbury.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Parallel computing,cloud computing,GPU computing,MapReduce computing,data mining,cybersecurity,image processing,GIS,concurrent software,multiprocessor architectures
Abstract of Award
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Primary: Paul Hooper
(505) 946-2726
education@santafe.edu
Secondary: Cristopher D. Moore
moore@santafe.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational simulations, mathematical modeling, and statistical analysis of data of a physical, biological or social system; testing results against theoretical predictions and real-world data sets.
Comments: Participants’ main work is within the context of a small-group research project working with SFI mentors. Prior to a student’s SFI residency s/he is encouraged to complete SFI’s MOOC “Introduction..
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
South Dakota State University
High Performance Computing in STEM Disciplines at South Dakota State University
Mechanical Engineering Department
Brookings, South Dakota
Primary: Stephen Gent
(605) 688-5337
stephen.gent@sdstate.edu
Secondary: Jung-Han Kimn
(605) 688-5842
jung-han.kimn@sdstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: High-performance computing, big data, interdisciplinary research, computational and applied mathematics and statistics, engineering, biological sciences, responsible conduct of research
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Primary: Jamie Payton
(215) 204-1237
payton@temple.edu
Secondary: Jie Wu
(215) 204-6356
jiewu@temple.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Pervasive computing, Internet of Things, computer vision, networking, smart health and well-being, smart spaces, machine learning, data science, socially relevant computing
Abstract of Award
Tennessee Technological University
Secure and Privacy Preserving Cyber Physical Sustems
Electrical and Computer Engineering Department
Cookeville, Tennessee
Primary: Mohamed Mahmoud
(931) 310-5074
mmahmoud@tntech.edu
Secondary: Hasan Syed
(931) 373-3462
shasan@tntech.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Secure vehicular networks and electric vehicles communications, anomaly detection, formal security analytics, physical layer security, hardware insecurities, and secure programmable logic controllers
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Education and Human Resources
Texas State University
Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Software Systems and Analysis
Department of Computer Science
San Marcos, Texas
Primary: Guowei Yang
(512) 245-3409
gyang@txstate.edu
Secondary: Anne Ngu
(512) 245-2349
angu@txstate.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Analysis of software qualities such as reliability, performance, and energy efficiency for software systems including mobile software, internet of things, green computing, big data, parallel systems.
Abstract of Award
University of Arizona
REU Site: Cognitive and Autonomous Test (CAT) Vehicle
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Nancy Emptage
emptagen@ece.arizona.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Autonomous cars, cognitive radio, model-based design, wireless networks, embedded control systems, sensor fusion, Vehicle to Vehicle (V2V) and Vehicle to Infrastructure (V2I)communications
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of California, Irvine
Cultivating the I0T-enabled Smart Community (IoT-SITY)
Computer Science Department
Irvine, California
Primary: Sharnnia Artis
(949) 824-7134
oai@uci.edu
Secondary: Nalini Venkatasubramanian
(949) 824-8598
nalini@uci.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Internet-of-things, smart communities, cyberphysical systems, infrastructure resilience, smart manufacturing, smart buildings, IoT networks, IoT data management, machine learning, IoT deployments
Abstract of Award
Berkeley, California
Primary: James Demmel
(510) 642-7699
demmel@eecs.berkeley.edu
Secondary: Audrey Sillers
(510) 664-7181
araya@eecs.berkeley.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Big data, security, databases, parallel programming, AI, HCI, MEMS, graphics
Abstract of Award
University of California - Los Angeles
Wireless Health Research and Education
Electrical Engineering
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Wes Uehara
(310) 206-5592
wuehara@seas.ucla.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Acoustic environment classification, zero configuration systems, reliable inference, data college and predictive analytics, energy-aware inferencing of rich contexts and behaviors
Abstract of Award
University of California - San Diego
REU Site: Engineers for Exploration
California Institute of Telecommunications and Information Technology
San Diego, California
Primary: Ryan Kastner
(858) 534-8908
rkastner@ucsd.edu
Secondary: Curt Schurgers
cschurgers@ucsd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Embedded computing systems, robotics, sensor networks, wireless communication, remote sensing, field deployments, digital signal processing, microcontrollers
Abstract of Award
University of Central Florida
Research for Undergraduates in Computer Vision
Center for Research in Computer Vision
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Mubarak Shah
(407) 823-5077
shah@crcv.ucf.edu
Secondary: Niels Lobo
(407) 823-2873
niels@eecs.ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computer Vision
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Department of Defense (DoD)
University of Central Florida
Research Experiences in the Internet of Things
Computer Science Department
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Damla Turgut
(407) 823-6171
turgut@cs.ucf.edu
Secondary: Yier Jin
(407) 823-5321
yier.jin@ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Internet of Things (IoT), security and privacy, sensor design and fabrication, social networks and IoT, energy efficient devices, medical applications of IoT
Abstract of Award
University of Colorado, Colorado Springs
Machine Learning in Natural Language Processing and Computer Vision
Computer Science Department
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Primary: Jugal Kalita
(719) 255-3432
jkalita@uccs.edu
Secondary: Kristen Walcott-Justice
(719) 255-3670
kjustice@uccs.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Natural language processing, syntax, semantics, information retrieval, computer vision, face recognition, incremental learning, large-scale learning, artificial neural networks, deep learning
Abstract of Award
University of Connecticut
Bio-Grid REU Site
Computer Science and Engineering
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Chun-Hsi Huang
860-486-5472
huang@cse.uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Bio-Grid: High-Performance Computing, Computational Biology, Life-Science Informatics, Cluster/Grid/Cloud Computing
Abstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering