Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.cise@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
University of California - Los Angeles
REU Site: Interactive Systems
Electrical Engineering
Los Angeles, California
Primary: Gregory J. Pottie
(310) 525-8150
pottie@cs.ucla.edu
Secondary: Danijela Cabric
danijela@uclasa.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: inter-active systems, cyber-physical systems,data assisted education, sensing, signal processing,
REU Site: Interactive SystemsAbstract of Award
University of California - San Diego
REU Site: Engineers for Exploration
California Institute of Telecommunications and Information Technology
San Diego, California
Primary: Ryan Kastner
(858) 534-8908
rkastner@ucsd.edu
Secondary: Curt Schurgers
cschurgers@ucsd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Remote sensing, robotics, sensors, system prototyping, field deployments, computer vision, machine learning, digital signal processing
REU Site: Engineers for ExplorationAbstract of Award
University of Central Florida
Research Experiences in the Internet of Things
Computer Science Department
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Damla Turgut
(407) 823-6171
turgut@cs.ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Internet of Things, sensors and actuators, smart grids, smart home, smart healthcare, AR/VR, machine learning, artificial intelligence
Research Experiences in the Internet of ThingsAbstract of Award
University of Central Florida
Research for Undergraduates in Computer Vision
Center for Research in Computer Vision
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Mubarak Shah
(407) 823-5077
shah@crcv.ucf.edu
Secondary: Niels Lobo
(407) 823-2873
niels@eecs.ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Convolutional Neural Networks, Artificial Intelligence, Computer Vision, Deep Learning, Machine Learning, Facial Recognition, Medical AI, Cancer Detection, Autonomous Vehicles, Explainable AI
Research for Undergraduates in Computer VisionAbstract of Award
University of Central Florida
wireless networking, computer vision, and data analytics.
computer Science and Mathematics
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Mubarak Shah
(407) 823-5077
shah@eecs.ucf.edu
Secondary: Niels J da Vitoria Lobo
niels@eecs.ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: computer vision, image processing, image classification, neural networks, deep learning, convolutional neural networks, big data, networking, machine learning
wireless networking, computer vision, and data analytics.Abstract of Award
University of Cincinnati
: REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Hardware and Embedded Systems Security and Trust (RHEST)
: Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Cincinnati, Ohio
Primary: Boyang Wang
(513) 556-4785
boyang.wang@uc.edu
Secondary: John M. Emmert
(513) 556-2615
emmertj@ucmail.uc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: side-channel attacks, fault-injection attacks, reserve engineering, security validation of third-party IP, detection of hardware Trojans
: REU Site: Research Experiences for Undergraduates in Hardware and Embedded Systems Security and Trust (RHEST)Abstract of Award
University of Colorado at Colorado Springs
REU Site: Deep Learning: Theory, Concepts and Applications
Colorado
Primary: Jugal Kalita
jkalita@uccs.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: deep learning, machine learning, natural language processing, bioinformatics, computational medicine, computer vision
REU Site: Deep Learning: Theory, Concepts and ApplicationsAbstract of Award
University of Connecticut
Trustable Embedded Systems Security Research
Computer Science & Engineering Department, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Storrs, Connecticut
Primary: Omer Khan
(860) 486-2192
khan@uconn.edu
Secondary: Bing Wang
(860) 486-0582
bing@uconn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Secure Quantum Crypto; Internet Routing; Communications; Mobile Healthcare; Voting, Neuromorphic and Anti-tamper Systems; Embedded Processors; Authenticated Hardware; System Vulnerability Analysis
Trustable Embedded Systems Security ResearchAbstract of Award
University of Florida
REU Site: Secure, Accessible, and Sustainable Transportation
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Gainesville, Florida
Primary: Sandip Roy
(352) 392-1605
sandip@ece.ufl.edu
Secondary: Wanli Xing
(352) 273-3259
Wanli.xing@ece.ufl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: transportation, security, accessibility, sustainability.
REU Site: Secure, Accessible, and Sustainable TransportationAbstract of Award
University of Houston
Undergraduate Research Experience in Frontiers of Data-Driven Computing.
Department of Computer Science
Houston, Texas
Primary: Ernst L. Leiss
(713) 743-3359
coscel@cs.uh.edu
Secondary: Stephen Huang
(713) 743-3338
shuang@cs.uh.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data-centric computing, data analytics, big data, cybersecurity
Undergraduate Research Experience in Frontiers of Data-Driven Computing.Abstract of Award
Urbana, IL, Illinois
Primary: Volodymyr Kindratenko
(217) 265-0209
kindrtnk@illinois.edu
Secondary: Olena Kindratenko
(217) 300-0247
kindrat2@illinois.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Machine Learning (ML), Open-Source Software and ML Models, Artificial Intelligence, ML Applications and Algorithms
REU Site: The future of discovery: training students to build and apply open source machine learning models and toolsAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
University of Iowa
REU Site: Computing for Health and Well-being
Computer Science
Iowa city, Idaho
Primary: Elizabeth Kleiman
(319) 467-1906
elizabeth-kleiman@uiowa.edu
Secondary: Octav Chipara
(319) 335-0713
octav-chipara@uiowa.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: health care, big data, electronic medical records, sensors mobility ,epidemiology, implants, models ,neurodiversity
REU Site: Computing for Health and Well-beingAbstract of Award
Kentucky
Primary: Wei Zhang
wei.zhang@louisville.edu
Secondary: Nihat Altiparmak
nihat.altiparmak@louisville.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computing Systems, Data Storage Systems, Parallel and Distributed Systems, Computer Architecture, Embedded Systems, Mobile Systems, Data-Intensive Computing
REU Site: Undergraduate Research Experiences in Computer Systems at University of LouisvilleAbstract of Award
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
REU Site: Online Interdisciplinary Big Data Analytics in Science and Engineering
Information Systems
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Jianwu Wang
(410) 455-3883
jianwu@umbc.edu
Secondary: Matthias K. Gobbert
(410) 455-2404
gobbert@umbc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Online REU, Data Science, Machine Learning, GPU Programing, Parallel Computing, Interdisciplinary Research, Applied AI, Applications in Science & Engineering, Computational Science
REU Site: Online Interdisciplinary Big Data Analytics in Science and EngineeringAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Computer and Information Science and Engineering
College Park, Maryland
Primary: William Gasarch
(301) 503-3157
gasarch@umd.edu
Secondary: John Dickerson
(301) 405-2774
john@umd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Machine learning, cryptography, security, allocation problems, quantum computing
CAAR: Combinatorics and Algorithms Applied to Real ProblemsAbstract of Award
University of Maryland
REU Site: Undergraduate Bioinformatics Research in Data Science for Genomics
Center for Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
College Park, Maryland
Primary: Jacquelyn (Meisel) Michaelis
(301) 405-9782
meiselj@umd.edu
Secondary: Mihai Pop
(301) 405-7245
mpop@umd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: bioinformatics, computational biology, genomics, metagenomics, machine learning, single-cell RNA sequencing, parallel computing, phylogenomics
REU Site: Undergraduate Bioinformatics Research in Data Science for GenomicsAbstract of Award
University of Maryland Baltimore County
NSF REU SITE: Smart Computing and Communications
: Information Systems, College of Engineering and Information Technology
Baltimore, Maryland
Primary: Nirmalya Roy
(410) 455-3182
mroy@umbc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Artificial intelligence, machine learning, wireless sensor networks, edge computing, pervasive and ubiquitous computing, IoT, robotics, smart home, smart health, smart city, cyber-physical systems
NSF REU SITE: Smart Computing and CommunicationsAbstract of Award
University of Massachusetts, Dartmouth
REU Site: Secure, Robust, and Resilient AI-enabled System Engineering
Computer and Information Science
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Primary: Ming C Shao
(508) 910-6893
mshao@umassd.edu
Secondary: Jiawei Yuan
jyuan@umassd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: artificial intelligence, system engineering, cyber security
REU Site: Secure, Robust, and Resilient AI-enabled System EngineeringAbstract of Award
University of Miami
Scientific Computing for Structure in Big or Complex Datasets
Department of Computer Science
Miami, Florida
Primary: Burton Rosenberg
(305) 284-2141
burt@cs.miami.edu
Secondary: Julie Garcia
(305) 284-2268
secretary@cs.miami.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Computational chemistry, computational neuroscience and brain science, visualization of ensemble data, GPU enabled cryptography, neural networks in visual processing modeling human social behavior
Scientific Computing for Structure in Big or Complex DatasetsAbstract of Award
University of MInnesota - Twin Cities
REU Site: Human-Centered Computing for Social Good
Computer Science and Engineering
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Primary: Evan Rosenberg
(612) 625-4002
suma@unm.edu
Secondary: Svetlana Yarosh
(612) 624-5599
lana@umn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: virtual reality, human-robot interaction, social computing, robotics, algorithms, emerging technologies, climate change, implicit bias mitigation
REU Site: Human-Centered Computing for Social GoodAbstract of Award
University of Missouri - Columbia
Undergraduate Research in Consumer Networking Technologies
Department of Computer Science
Columbia, Missouri
Primary: Prasad Calyam
(573) 882-9747
calyamp@missouri.edu
Secondary: Yi Shang
(573) 884-7794
shangy@missouri.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Software-defined networking/virtualization, visual computing at the network edge, social health networking, body-area sensing and environment recognition
Undergraduate Research in Consumer Networking TechnologiesAbstract of Award
University of Nebraska - Lincoln
Undergraduate Research Opportunities in Unmanned Systems Foundations and Applications
Computer Science and Engineering Department
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Brittany Duncan
(402) 472-5073
nimbus-reu@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Unmanned aerial systems, attitude control of nanosatellites, robots in complex environments, vehicles for atmospheric profiling, asset management during wildfires
Undergraduate Research Opportunities in Unmanned Systems Foundations and ApplicationsAbstract of Award
University of Nevada, Reno
Collaborative Human-Robot Interaction
Computer Science and Engineering
Reno, Nevada
Primary: David Feil-Seifer
(775) 784-6469
dave@cse.unr.edu
Secondary: Emily Hand
(775) 784-6974
ashleyricks@unr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: human computer interaction
Collaborative Human-Robot InteractionAbstract of Award
Reno, Nevada
Primary: Lei Yang
(775) 682-6872
leiy@unr.edu
Secondary: Fang Yan
fyan@unr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data analytics, big data, smart cities, sensors, decision making,
REU Site: Cross-disciplinary Research Experience for Undergraduates on Big Data Analytics in Smart CitiesAbstract of Award
Charlotte, North Carolina
Primary: David Wilson
(704) 687-8585
davils@uncc.edu
Secondary: Heather Lipford
(704) 687-8376
heather.lipford@uncc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Cyber-physical systems, Internet of Things, makerspace, human computer interaction, visualization, security, networking
Making Future Communities:Infrastructure and Interaction Design for Cyber-Physical SystemsAbstract of Award
Denton, Texas
Primary: Renee Bryce
(940) 565-4176
Renee.Bryce@unt.edu
Secondary: Cihan Tunc, 940-565-2767.
(940) 565-2767
Research Topics/Keywords: Machine learning, context driven systems, Software assurance, security, emerging technologies, mobile applications
REU Site: TaMaLe - Testing and Machine Learning for Context-Driven Systems: Research Experience for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
University of North Texas
Data Analytics and Information Retrieval
Information Science Department
Denton, Texas
Primary: Junhua Ding
(940) 565-2186
junhua.ding@unt.edu
Secondary: Jiangping Chen
(940) 369-8393
jiangping.chen@unt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data analytics, information retrieval, information retrieval of text and image collections, information retrieval for disaster research, data analytics for software security
Data Analytics and Information RetrievalAbstract of Award
University of North Texas
Vehicular Edge Computing and Security: Research Experience for Undergraduates
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Denton, Texas
Primary: Song Fu
(940) 565-2341
song.fu@unt.edu
Secondary: Qing Yang
(940) 565-4899
qing.yang@unt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Connected and autonomous vehicles, vehicular edge computing, vehicular sensor data fusion, trustworthy information sharing among vehicles, privacy protection
Vehicular Edge Computing and Security: Research Experience for UndergraduatesAbstract of Award
Denton, Texas
Primary: Hui Zhao
(940) 369-8189
hui.zhao@unt.edu
Secondary: Mark Albert
(940) 369-8635
Mark.albert@unt.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: AI, ML, software, hardware, algorithms, processor design, neural networks, GPU, multiprocessor, performance, energy, deep neural networks, bioinformatics,
Interdisciplinary Research Experience on Accelerated Deep Learning through A Hardware-Software Collaborative ApproachAbstract of Award
University of Rochester
Computational Methods for Understanding Music, Media, and Minds
Goergen Institute for Data Science
Rochester, New York
Primary: Ajay Anand
(585) 276-3149
gids-reu@rochester.edu
Secondary: Lisa Altman
(585) 275-5288
lisa.altman@rochester.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Machine learning, audio engineering, data science, computer vision, music
Computational Methods for Understanding Music, Media, and MindsAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.