Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual sites for application information and materials. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have specific eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed) for applicants in addition to those described here. Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees generally are not eligible.

Click on the name of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site.

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.sbe@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Karen Schollmeyer
(520) 882-6946
karen@archaeologysouthwest.org
Research Topics/Keywords: Anthropology, Archaeology
REU Site: Upper Gila Preservation Archaeology Field SchoolAbstract of Award
California State University, Long Beach
Tracking Land Change (TLC) at River Ridge Ranch, California
Geography
Long Beach, California
Primary: Paul Laris
(562) 234-6651
paul.laris@csulb.edu
Secondary: Scott Winslow
scott.winslow@csulb.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Conservation, Restoration Ecology, Geospatial Technology, Remote Sensing, Conservation Drones, Carbon Sequestration, Working Lands, Oak Woodlands, Grasslands, California, Sequoia National Forest
Comments: Eligible Student Participants: Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds at REU-Sites must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. An undergraduate student is a student who is enrolled in a degree program (part-time or full-time) leading to a baccalaureate or associate degree.
Tracking Land Change (TLC) at River Ridge Ranch, CaliforniaAbstract of Award
New York, New York
Primary: Jaihyun Park
(646) 312-3806
jaihyun.park@baruch.cuny.edu
Secondary: Charles Scherbaum
(646) 312-3807
charles.scherbaum@baruch.cuny.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Social Cognition, I/O Psychology, Human Development, Clinical Psychology, Data Analysis, Applied Psychological Science
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Basic and Applied Science of PsychologyAbstract of Award
New York
Primary: Laura Rabin
(718) 951-5622
lrabin@brooklyn.cuny.edu
North Carolina
Primary: Joseph Ewoodzie
(704) 894-3094
joewoodzie@davidson.edu
North Carolina
Primary: Makeba Wilbourn
(919) 660-5795
makeba.wilbourn@duke.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Psychology and Neuroscience
REU Site: Lifespan Approaches to Diverse Psychological ScienceAbstract of Award
District Of Columbia
Primary: David Braun
(908) 251-4523
drbraun76@gmail.com
Indiana University
REU Site: Animal Behavior in Context
Center for the Integrative Study of Animal Behavior
Bloomington, Indiana
Primary: Laura Hurley
(812) 856-1991
lhurley@indiana.edu
Secondary: Cara Wellman
(812) 855-4922
wellmanc@indiana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, behavior, neuroscience, ecology. endocrinology, genomics
Comments: Coordinator: Linda Summers/812.855.9663
REU Site: Animal Behavior in ContextAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences, Ethics and Values Studies
Charlotte, North Carolina
Primary: Ronda Bibbs
(704) 378-1006
rbibbs@jcsu.edu
language science, linguistics, cognition, science museum, public outreach
The Language of Science and the Science of Language
Psychology
Columbus, Ohio
Primary: Nikole Patson
(740) 725-6244
patson.3@osu.edu
Secondary: Laura Wagner
Wagner.602@osu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: language science, linguistics, cognition, science museum, public outreach
The Language of Science and the Science of LanguageAbstract of Award
New Mexico State University and University of Texas-El Paso
Collaborative Site Program on Immigration Policy and US-Mexico Border Communities
Department of Government, New Mexico State University
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Primary: Dr. Neil Harvey
(575) 646-4935
nharvey@nmsu.edu
Secondary: Dr. Jeremy Slack
(915) 747-6530
jmslack@utep.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: immigration policy; US-Mexico border policy; social science research methods; community-based participatory research; asylum
Collaborative Site Program on Immigration Policy and US-Mexico Border CommunitiesAbstract of Award
Fargo, North Dakota
Primary: Jennifer Momsen
jennifer.momsen@ndsu.edu
Secondary: Warren Christensen
warren.christensen@ndsu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: discipline-based education research, biology education research, chemistry education research, physics education research, geosciences education research, cognitive sciences, learning sciences
REU Site: Growing up STEM: An Interdisciplinary Research Experience in Undergraduate STEM EducationAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Chemistry, Physics
Athens, Ohio
Primary: Dr. Frances Wymbs
(716) 983-9485
wymbsf@ohio.edu
Secondary: Dr. Brian Wymbs
(716) 697-0811
Research Topics/Keywords: treatment-related research; social, emotional, and behavior problems; children
Comments: The proposed REU site is a well-structured program for a cohort of nine students each year who are interested in treatment-related research for children with social
REU Site: Treatment-Related Research for Children with Social, Emotional, and Behavioral ProblemsAbstract of Award
Virginia
Primary: Yusuke Yamani
(757) 683-4293
yyamani@odu.edu
Pennsylvania
Primary: Asher Rosinger
(814) 865-5220
asher.rosinger@gmail.com
Regents of the University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
NSF REU Site: Michigan Summer Program in Cognition and Early Development
Department of Psychology
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Primary: Felix Warneken
(734) 647-2663
warneken@umich.edu
Secondary: Ioulia Kovelman
(734) 764-7247
kovelman@umich.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Child Psychology, Cognition, Language, Theory-of-Mind, Neuroscience
NSF REU Site: Michigan Summer Program in Cognition and Early DevelopmentAbstract of Award
Georgia
Primary: A. Nayena Blankson
(404) 270-5658
ablanks1@spelman.edu
New York
Primary: Karen Wolford
(315) 312-4013
karen.wolford@oswego.edu
College Station, Texas
Primary: Mary Campbell
(979) 845-6549
m-campbell@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Health disparities, Residential segregation, Education disparities, Disparities in housing and neighborhoods, Disparities in criminal justice outcomes
NSF REU Site: Research Institute in Sociology and Social InequalityAbstract of Award
University of Arkansas at Little Rock
The Scope and Consequences of Hate Crime Victimization in the South
School of Criminal Justice and Criminology
Little Rock, Arkansas
Primary: Tusty ten Bensel
(501) 916-6637
ixzohra@ualr.edu
Secondary: Robert Lytle
(501) 961-6634
rdlytle@ualr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Hate crime; victimization; qualitative research; survey research; criminal justice; criminology
The Scope and Consequences of Hate Crime Victimization in the SouthAbstract of Award
Santa Barbara, California
Primary: Anne Charity-Hudley
(804) 304-3493
acharityhudley@linguistics.uscb.edu
Secondary: Mary Bucholtz
bucholtz@ucsb.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Linguistic Sciences, Minority-Serving Institutions, Historically Black Colleges and Universities, Role of Language in Social Mobility, Sociology
NSF REU Site: Increasing Diversity In the Linguistic Sciences Through Research on Language and Social MobilityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences
Orlando, Florida
Primary: Dr. Timothy L. Hawthorne
(404) 823-1030
timothy.hawthorne@ucf.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Geography, GIS, Social Sciences, International Fieldwork, Community Geography, Citizen Science
REU/RET Site: Preparing the Next Generation of Scholars through Community Geographic Information Systems and Citizen ScienceAbstract of Award
Memphis, Tennessee
Primary: Helen J. K. Sable, PhD
(901) 678-4343
hjsable@memphis.edu
Secondary: Deranda B. Lester, PhD
(901) 678-4213
Deranda.Lester@memphis.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: neuroscience, voltammetry, electrophysiology, optogenetics, behavior, emotional regulation, addiction, executive function
REU Site: Memphis Neuroscience Techniques and Research Training Program for Undergraduates (NeuroSTART)Abstract of Award
Minnesota
Primary: Stephen Engel
(612) 625-5571
engel@umn.edu
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
REU Site: Community-Engaged Research for Advancing Health Equity
Department of Psychology, Institute for Ethnic Studies, Minority Health Disparities Initiative
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Arthur "Trey" Andrews
(402) 472-7008
kpatterson2@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Health equity; health disparities; community-engaged
REU Site: Community-Engaged Research for Advancing Health EquityAbstract of Award
University of Nebraska Lincoln
Digital Legal Research Lab
History
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Dr. Katrina Jagodinsky
(402) 472-2414
kjagodinsky@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Law and Science; Legal Mobilization; Legal Data Encoding and Analysis; History; Political Science
Digital Legal Research LabAbstract of Award
University of North Carolina at Charlotte
REU Site: Data Science and Crime Analytics
North Carolina
Primary: Michael Turner
(704) 687-1888
mgturner@uncc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data Science and Crime Analytics
REU Site: Data Science and Crime AnalyticsAbstract of Award
Notre Dame, Indiana
Primary: Paul Brenner
(574) 631-7432
paul.r.brenner@nd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Advanced computational applications, Computational social science research, Cyberinfrastructure Tools, personality analysis (psychology), interpersonal networks (sociology)
NSF REU Site: Computational Social ScienceAbstract of Award
Eugene, Oregon
Primary: Gabriela Perez Baez
(347) 232-2191
gperezb4@uoregon.edu
Secondary: Melissa Baese-Berk
mbaesebe@uoregon.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: linguistics, fieldwork, language revitalization, experimental linguistics, speech perception and production, academic development, career in STEM, community engagement
Comments: Alternative title of REU Site: Increasing American Indian/Alaska Native Perspectives in Field and Experimental Linguistics
REU Sites: Increasing Native American Perspectives in Field and Experimental LinguisticsAbstract of Award
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Primary: Florian Schwarz
(215) 898-8183
florians@ling.upenn.edu
Secondary: Joseph Kable
(215) 573-1111
kable@psych.upenn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: mind, brain, behavior, biology, neuroscience, psychology, linguistics, philosophy, computer science
Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU) site in Interdisciplinary Mind and Brain Studies at the University of Pennsylvania (Penn)Abstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.