Email Print Share

REU Sites

REU Sites: Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences

APPLICATIONS: Students must contact the individual sites for application information and materials. NSF does not have application materials and does not select student participants.

ELIGIBILITY: Individual sites may have specific eligibility requirements (e.g., number of undergraduate years completed) for applicants in addition to those described here. Undergraduate student participants supported with NSF funds must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States or its possessions. High school graduates who have not yet enrolled and students who have already received their bachelor's degrees generally are not eligible.

Click on the name of the Site in the "Site Information" column to go to the homepage (if available) for that Site.

Please report errors in the list below by writing to reu.sbe@nsf.gov.


Search Again

Show 30 items per page.
REU Sites
Site Information Site Location Contact Information Additional Information
Tucson, Arizona
Primary: Karen Schollmeyer
(520) 882-6946
karen@archaeologysouthwest.org
Research Topics/Keywords: Anthropology, Archaeology
REU Site: Upper Gila Preservation Archaeology Field SchoolAbstract of Award
New York, New York
Primary: Luo Cassie Xu
(646) 884-0156
lcx2001@columbia.edu
Secondary: Joshua Fisher
(212) 854-6851
jf2788@columbia.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: data science, science communication, climate impacts and inequities, sustainability
REU Site: Beyond Basic Science – Connecting Climate to CommunitiesAbstract of Award
New York, New York
Primary: Charles Scherbaum
(646) 312-3807
charles_scherbaum@baruch.cuny.edu
Secondary: Daniele Artistico
daniele.artistico@baruch.cuny.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Psychology, Data analysis, Research, Applied Psychological Science
REU Site: Training in Basic and Applied Psychological ScienceAbstract of Award
New York
Primary: Laura Rabin
(718) 951-5622
lrabin@brooklyn.cuny.edu
North Carolina
Primary: Joseph Ewoodzie
(704) 894-3094
joewoodzie@davidson.edu
North Carolina
Primary: Makeba Wilbourn
(919) 660-5795
makeba.wilbourn@duke.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Psychology and Neuroscience
REU Site: Lifespan Approaches to Diverse Psychological ScienceAbstract of Award
District Of Columbia
Primary: David Braun
(908) 251-4523
drbraun76@gmail.com
Indiana University
REU Site: Animal Behavior in Context
Center for the Integrative Study of Animal Behavior
Bloomington, Indiana
Primary: Laura Hurley
(812) 856-1991
lhurley@indiana.edu
Secondary: Cara Wellman
(812) 855-4922
wellmanc@indiana.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: biosciences, behavior, neuroscience, ecology. endocrinology, genomics
Comments: Coordinator: Linda Summers/812.855.9663
REU Site: Animal Behavior in ContextAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences, Ethics and Values Studies
Charlotte, North Carolina
Primary: Ronda Bibbs
(704) 378-1006
rbibbs@jcsu.edu
Athens, Ohio
Primary: Dr. Frances Wymbs
(716) 983-9485
wymbsf@ohio.edu
Secondary: Dr. Brian Wymbs
(716) 697-0811
Research Topics/Keywords: treatment-related research; social, emotional, and behavior problems; children
Comments: Here is the abstract that we submitted as our project summary. We'd love for it to be displayed on the Directory of REU Sites, or we are happy to revise what we had before in 2017-2020. New abstract is below: Intellectual Merit. The proposed REU site is a well-structured program for a cohort of nine students each year who are interested in treatment-related research for children with social
REU Site: Treatment-Related Research for Children with Social, Emotional, and Behavioral ProblemsAbstract of Award
Virginia
Primary: Yusuke Yamani
(757) 683-4293
yyamani@odu.edu
Pennsylvania
Primary: Asher Rosinger
(814) 865-5220
asher.rosinger@gmail.com
Regents of the University of Michigan - Ann Arbor
NSF REU Site: Michigan Summer Program in Cognition and Early Development
Department of Psychology
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Primary: Felix Warneken
(734) 647-2663
warneken@umich.edu
Secondary: Ioulia Kovelman
(734) 764-7247
kovelman@umich.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Child Psychology, Cognition, Language, Theory-of-Mind, Neuroscience
NSF REU Site: Michigan Summer Program in Cognition and Early DevelopmentAbstract of Award
Georgia
Primary: A. Nayena Blankson
(404) 270-5658
ablanks1@spelman.edu
California
Primary: Michael Frank
(650) 724-4003
mcfrank@stanford.edu
Secondary: Christopher G. Potts
(413) 695-2967
cgpotts@stanford.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Language, Cognition, Computation
REU Site: Language, Cognition and ComputationAbstract of Award
New York
Primary: Karen Wolford
(315) 312-4013
karen.wolford@oswego.edu
New York
Primary: Kevin Heffernan
(315) 443-2208
ksheffer@syr.edu
College Station, Texas
Primary: Mary Campbell
(979) 845-6549
m-campbell@tamu.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Health disparities, Residential segregation, Education disparities, Disparities in housing and neighborhoods, Disparities in criminal justice outcomes
NSF REU Site: Research Institute in Sociology and Social InequalityAbstract of Award
University of Arkansas at Little Rock
The Scope and Consequences of Hate Crime Victimization in the South
School of Criminal Justice and Criminology
Little Rock, Arkansas
Primary: Tusty ten Bensel
(501) 916-6637
ixzohra@ualr.edu
Secondary: Robert Lytle
(501) 961-6634
rdlytle@ualr.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Hate crime; victimization; qualitative research; survey research; criminal justice; criminology
The Scope and Consequences of Hate Crime Victimization in the SouthAbstract of Award
Santa Barbara, California
Primary: Anne Charity-Hudley
(804) 304-3493
acharityhudley@linguistics.uscb.edu
Secondary: Mary Bucholtz
bucholtz@ucsb.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Linguistic Sciences, Minority-Serving Institutions, Historically Black Colleges and Universities, Role of Language in Social Mobility, Sociology
NSF REU Site: Increasing Diversity In the Linguistic Sciences Through Research on Language and Social MobilityAbstract of Award
Cofunded: Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences
Memphis, Tennessee
Primary: Helen J. K. Sable, PhD
(901) 678-4343
hjsable@memphis.edu
Secondary: Deranda B. Lester, PhD
(901) 678-4213
Deranda.Lester@memphis.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: neuroscience, voltammetry, electrophysiology, optogenetics, behavior, emotional regulation, addiction, executive function
REU Site: Memphis Neuroscience Techniques and Research Training Program for Undergraduates (NeuroSTART)Abstract of Award
Minnesota
Primary: Stephen Engel
(612) 625-5571
engel@umn.edu
Lincoln, Nebraska
Primary: Kirk Dombrowski
(612) 625-5571
kdombrowski2@unl.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Health Disparities, minority health, social network analysis
NSF REU Site: Social Network Analysis for Solving Minority Health DisparitiesAbstract of Award
University of North Carolina at Charlotte
REU Site: Data Science and Crime Analytics
North Carolina
Primary: Michael Turner
(704) 687-1888
mgturner@uncc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Data Science and Crime Analytics
REU Site: Data Science and Crime AnalyticsAbstract of Award
Notre Dame, Indiana
Primary: Paul Brenner
(574) 631-7432
paul.r.brenner@nd.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Advanced computational applications, Computational social science research, Cyberinfrastructure Tools, personality analysis (psychology), interpersonal networks (sociology)
NSF REU Site: Computational Social ScienceAbstract of Award
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Primary: Florian Schwarz
(215) 898-8183
florians@ling.upenn.edu
Secondary: Joseph Kable
(215) 573-1111
able@psych.upenn.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: mind, brain, behavior, biology, neuroscience, psychology, linguistics, philosophy, computer science
Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU) site in Interdisciplinary Mind and Brain Studies at the University of Pennsylvania (Penn)Abstract of Award
Mobile, Alabama
Primary: Lesley Gregoricka
(251) 460-6347
lgregoricka@southalabama.edu
Secondary: Jaime Ullinger
Jaime.Ullinger@quinnipiac.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Hypothesis Formation to Data Collection, Analysis, Public Outreach, and Publication. Complementary Instruction in Professional Development, Ethics, and Statistical Modules
REU Site: Bioarchaeology of Bronze Age Social SystemsAbstract of Award
University of South Carolina at Columbia
REU Site: Disparities in the Criminal Justice System
Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice
Columbia, South Carolina
Primary: Barbara A. Koons-Witt, Ph.D.
(803) 777-9921
BAKOONS@mailbox.sc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Criminology, Criminal Justice, System Disparities
REU Site: Disparities in the Criminal Justice SystemAbstract of Award
California
Primary: Megan Becker
(484) 433-3701
meganbec@usc.edu
Research Topics/Keywords: Applied Data Scince, Data Management, Data Visualization Using R, an Open Source Statistical Software Package
REU Site: Data Science and the Political Economy of International SecurityAbstract of Award
Austin, Texas
Primary: Shannon Cavanagh
(512) 471-6424
scavanagh@austin.utexas.edu
Secondary: Cynthia Osborne
Research Topics/Keywords: race, ethnicity, family demography
REU Site: Undergraduate Research in Race, Ethnicity and Family DemographyAbstract of Award
Show 30 items per page.