Astronomy and Astrophysics Advisory Committee (AAAC)

January 26, 2021 10:00 AM  to 
January 27, 2021 5:00 PM
Zoom (dial-in info. below)

Save the Date

The Astronomy and Astrophysics Advisory Committee is a federal advisory committee chartered under the Federal Advisory Committee Act, which resulted from one of the primary recommendations of the Presidential Committee on the Organization and Management of Research in Astronomy and Astrophysics (COMRAA).

The purpose of this meeting is to provide advice and recommendations to the National Science Foundation (NSF), the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) and the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) on issues within the field of astronomy and astrophysics that are of mutual interest and concern to the agencies. The Committee will hear presentations of current programming by representatives from NSF, NASA, DOE and other agencies relevant to astronomy and astrophysics; to discuss current and potential areas of cooperation between the agencies; and to formulate recommendations for continued and new areas of cooperation and mechanisms for achieving them.

The meeting will be held over Zoom. The information to join is as follows:

1. One-click:

Meeting ID: 161 887 6914

Password: 463072

2. To join via telephone: +1 646 828 7666 (United States)

Meeting Type
Advisory Committee Meeting

Martin D. Still, (703) 292-4290, email:
       Preferred Contact Method: Email
Allison V. Farrow, (703) 292-7288, email:
       Preferred Contact Method: Email
Renee Adwoa Akyem Adonteng, (703) 292-4712, email:
       Preferred Contact Method: Email

NSF Related Organizations
Division of Astronomical Sciences

Core Attachments

Welcome and Introductions; Logistics, Conflicts - Martin Still
DOE/HEP Programs and Budget Update - Kathy Turner
Update from NASA Heliophysics - Nicky Fox
NSF/AST Programs and Budget Update - Ralph Gaume
NSF Engagement in the Future of Maunakea - Dave Boboltz, Caroline Blanco, Karen Pearce
Dual Anonymous Peer Review within NASA Astrophysics - Dan Evans
Spectrum Management Update - Ashley Zauderer and Jonathan Williams
No-deadline Proposal Pilot Study at NSF - Jim Neff
NASA/APD Programs and Budget Update - Paul Hertz
Arecibo Update - Ashley VanderLey, Alison Peck, Robb Moore
Roman Space Telescope Update - Dominic Benford, Julie McEnery
James Webb Space Telescope Update - Eric Smith
Update from NSF Physics Division - Denise Caldwell