Email Print Share

NSF Predictive Intelligence for Pandemic Prevention: Development Grant  (PIPP Phase I)

July 13th, 2pm-3pm

July 13, 2021 2:00 PM  to 
July 13, 2021 3:00 PM
Virtual Meeting

Save the Date

Synopsis of Program:

This solicitation is for Development Grants as part of NSF’s new Predictive Intelligence for Pandemic Prevention (PIPP) initiative. This initiative focuses on fundamental research and capabilities needed to tackle grand challenges in infectious disease pandemics through prediction and prevention. NSF anticipates releasing a Phase II Center Grants solicitation around 2023. Note that submission or award of a Development Grant is not required to participate in the anticipated PIPP Phase II Center Grants competition.

The PIPP Phase I initiative intends to support planning activities encompassing (1) articulation of a grand challenge centered around a critical and broad question in pandemic predictive intelligence; (2) proposals of novel conceptual research and technology developments that aim to advance state-of-the-art forecasting, real-time monitoring, mitigation, and prevention of the spread of pathogens; and (3) multidisciplinary team formation. Successful Phase I proposals must identify an innovative interdisciplinary grand challenge that engages integrated computational, biological, engineering, and social/behavioral approaches to formulate and solve critical problems relating to predictive intelligence for pandemic prevention. PIs of Phase I Development Grants are strongly encouraged to develop research and technical approaches that start to address critical aspects of the identified grand challenge.

NSF’s PIPP activities place great emphasis on high-risk/high-payoff convergent research that has the potential for large societal impact. To that end, prospective principal investigators (PIs) must develop teams and proposals that work across scientific, disciplinary, geographic, and organizational divides, push conceptual boundaries, and build new theoretical framings of the understanding of pandemic predictive intelligence.

The Directorates for Biological Sciences (BIO), Computer Information Science and Engineering (CISE), Engineering (ENG), and Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences (SBE), are jointly collaborating to support the PIPP Phase I activities. Involvement of and collaboration with other research communities with significant effort in related spaces is highly encouraged.

 

Join the webinar session here: 

https://nsf.zoomgov.com/j/1602198129?pwd=WmlMd1JvWk1VRnZtakYybFIwRGFSZz09

Passcode: 734636

Or One tap mobile :

    US: +16692545252,,1602198129#  or +16468287666,,1602198129#

Or Telephone:

    Dial(for higher quality, dial a number based on your current location):

        US: +1 669 254 5252  or +1 646 828 7666  or +1 669 216 1590  or +1 551 285 1373  or 833 568 8864 (Toll Free)

Webinar ID: 160 219 8129

  International numbers available: https://nsf.zoomgov.com/u/aczz1rms7V

 

Or an H.323/SIP room system:

    H.323: 161.199.138.10 (US West) or 161.199.136.10 (US East)

    Meeting ID: 160 219 8129

    Passcode: 734636

    SIP: 1602198129@sip.zoomgov.com

    Passcode: 734636

Live captioning information:

At the start time of the event, please login to your event by clicking on the link below:
https://www.captionedtext.com/client/event.aspx?EventID=4816598&Customer...

Captions Event ID: 4816598

 

This event is part of Webinars/Webcasts.

Meeting Type
Lecture, Webcast

Contacts
Goli Yamini, 703-292-5367, email: gyamini@nsf.gov
Mitra Basu, (703) 292-8649, email: mbasu@nsf.gov
John Zhang, (703) 292-8111, email: jzhang@nsf.gov
Wendy Nilsen, (703) 292-2568, email: wnilsen@nsf.gov
Scott T. Acton, (703) 292-8910, email: sacton@nsf.gov
Katharina Dittmar, (703) 292-7799, email: kdittmar@nsf.gov
Rebecca Ferrell, (703) 292-7850, email: rferrell@nsf.gov
Mamadou Diallo, (703) 292-4257, email: mdiallo@nsf.gov
Joseph M. Whitmeyer, (703) 292-7808, email: jwhitmey@nsf.gov
Joanna Shisler, (703) 292-5368, email: jshisler@nsf.gov
Marcia E Newcomer, (703) 292-4778, email: mnewcome@nsf.gov
Admela Jukan, email: ajukan@nsf.gov

NSF Related Organizations
Directorate for Computer and Information Science and Engineering
Directorate for Engineering