Skip to main content
Email Print Share

Discovery Research PreK-12  (DRK-12)


CONTACTS
Name Email Phone Room
Inquiries can be  made to DRLDRK12@nsf.gov (703) 292-8620   
David  B. Campbell dcampbel@nsf.gov (703) 292-5093   
Julia  V. Clark jclark@nsf.gov (703) 292-5119   
Catherine  . Eberbach ceberbac@nsf.gov (703) 292-4960   
Michael  Ford miford@nsf.gov (703) 292-5153   
David  L. Haury dhaury@nsf.gov (703) 292-8614   
Margret  . Hjalmarson mhjalmar@nsf.gov (703) 292-4313   
Karen  . King kking@nsf.gov (703) 292-5124   
Rebecca  Kruse rkruse@nsf.gov (703) 292-4211   
Julio  E. Lopez-Ferrao jlopezfe@nsf.gov (703) 292-5183   
Robert  Ochsendorf rochsend@nsf.gov (703) 292-2760   
Joseph  Reed jreed@nsf.gov (703) 292-5187   
Ferdinand  D. Rivera frivera@nsf.gov (703) 292-8620   
Robert  Ronau rronau@nsf.gov (703) 292-5089   
Monya  A. Ruffin mruffin@nsf.gov (703) 292-4635   
Robert  Russell rlrussel@nsf.gov (703) 292-2995   
Joan  M. Walker jowalker@nsf.gov (703) 292-7016   

PROGRAM GUIDELINES

Solicitation  17-584

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 17-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after January 30, 2017. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 17-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.

DUE DATES

Full Proposal Deadline Date

    November 14, 2017

SYNOPSIS

The Discovery Research PreK-12 program (DRK-12) seeks to significantly enhance the learning and teaching of science, technology, engineering, mathematics and computer science (STEM) by preK-12 students and teachers, through research and development of STEM education innovations and approaches. Projects in the DRK-12 program build on fundamental research in STEM education and prior research and development efforts that provide theoretical and empirical justification for proposed projects. Projects should result in research-informed and field-tested outcomes and products that inform teaching and learning. Teachers and students who participate in DRK-12 studies are expected to enhance their understanding and use of STEM content, practices and skills.

The DRK-12 program invites proposals that address immediate challenges that are facing preK-12 STEM education as well as those that anticipate radically different structures and functions of preK-12 teaching and learning. The DRK-12 program has three major research and development strands: (1) Assessment; (2) Learning; and (3) Teaching. The program recognizes the synergy among the three strands and that there is some overlap and interdependence among them. However, proposals should identify a clear focus of the proposed research efforts (i.e., assessment, learning, or teaching) consistent with the proposal’s main objectives and research questions. The program supports five types of projects: (1) Exploratory, (2) Design and Development, (3) Impact, (4) Implementation and Improvement, and (5) Conferences and Syntheses. All five types of projects apply to each of the three DRK-12 program strands.

What Has Been Funded (Recent Awards Made Through This Program, with Abstracts)

Map of Recent Awards Made Through This Program

News