Skip to main content
Email Print Share

National Robotics Initiative 2.0: Ubiquitous Collaborative Robots  (NRI-2.0)


CONTACTS
Name Email Phone Room
Reid  Simmons resimmon@nsf.gov (703) 292-4767   
Radhakishan  Baheti rbaheti@nsf.gov (703) 292-8339   
Jordan  M. Berg jberg@nsf.gov (703) 292-5365   
Ephraim  P. Glinert eglinert@nsf.gov (703) 292-8930   
David  L. Haury dhaury@nsf.gov (703) 292-5102   
Tatiana  Korelsky tkorelsk@nsf.gov (703) 292-8930   
Bruce  Kramer bkramer@nsf.gov (703) 292-5348   
Frederick  M. Kronz fkronz@nsf.gov (703) 292-7283   
Wendy  Nilsen wnilsen@nsf.gov (703) 292-2568   
Jack  Snoeyink jsnoeyin@nsf.gov (703) 292-8910   
Ralph  Wachter rwachter@nsf.gov (703) 292-8950   
Jie  Yang jyang@nsf.gov (703) 292-4768   
Seta  Bogosyan sbogosya@nsf.gov (703) 292-4766   

United States Department of Agriculture

Daniel Schmoldt, Ph.D.
National Institute of Food and Agriculture
Waterfront Centre, Ste. 3328
800 9th Street SW
Washington DC 20024

Electronic mail: dschmoldt@nifa.usda.gov
Telephone: 202-720-4807

Dr. Steven Thomson
National Institute of Food and Agriculture

Electronic mail: steven.j.thomson@nifa.usda.gov
Telephone: 202-401-6301

Department of Defense

Dr. David Han
Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense, Basic Research Office
875 N. Randolph Street, ONR, Room 1020
Arlington, VA 22203

Electronic mail: david.k.han@navy.mil
Telephone: (703) 696-4299

Department of Energy, Office of Environmental Management

Rodrigo V. Rimando, Jr.
U.S. Department of Energy, Headquarters
1000 Independence Ave, SW
Washington, DC 20585

Electronic mail: rodrigo.rimando@em.doe.gov
Telephone: (240) 676-6470


PROGRAM GUIDELINES

Solicitation  17-518

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 16-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after January 25, 2016. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 16-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.

DUE DATES

Full Proposal Deadline Date

    February 2, 2017

SYNOPSIS

The goal of the National Robotics Initiative (NRI) is to support fundamental research that will accelerate the development and use of robots in the United States that work beside or cooperatively with people. The original NRI program focused on innovative robotics research that emphasized the realization of collaborative robots (co-robots) working in symbiotic relationships with human partners.  The NRI-2.0 program significantly extends this theme to focus on issues of scalability: how teams of multiple robots and multiple humans can interact and collaborate effectively; how robots can be designed to facilitate achievement of a variety of tasks in a variety of environments, with minimal modification to the hardware and software; how robots can learn to perform more effectively and efficiently, using large pools of information from the cloud, other robots, and other people; and how the design of the robots’ hardware and software can facilitate large-scale, reliable operation.  In addition, the program supports innovative approaches to establish and infuse robotics into educational curricula, advance the robotics workforce through education pathways, and explore the social, behavioral, and economic implications of our future with ubiquitous collaborative robots. Collaboration between academic, industry, non-profit, and other organizations is encouraged to establish better linkages between fundamental science and engineering and technology development, deployment and use.  Well-justified international collaborations that add significant value to the proposed research and education activities will also be considered.

The NRI-2.0 program is supported by multiple agencies of the federal government including the National Science Foundation (NSF), the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), and the U.S. Department of Defense (DOD). Questions concerning a particular project's focus, direction and relevance to a participating funding organization should be addressed to that agency’s point of contact listed in section VIII of this solicitation.

RELATED URLS
NRI 2.0 Webinar - December 6, 2016 - 2pm - Register Here!

NSF Announcement of 2013 NRI Awards

NIH Announcement of 2013 NRI Awards

USDA Announcement of 2013 NRI Awards

NSF Announcement of 2012 NRI Awards

NIH Announcement of 2012 NRI Awards

NASA Announcement of 2012 NRI Awards

White House Office of Science and Technology Policy Blog Post on 2012 NRI Award Announcement

NRI webinar for Solicitation NSF 11-553 (Sept 13, 2011)

REVISIONS AND UPDATES

THIS PROGRAM IS PART OF Additional Funding Opportunities for the IIS Community

What Has Been Funded (Recent Awards Made Through This Program, with Abstracts)

Map of Recent Awards Made Through This Program

News