Email Print Share

Division of Information and Intelligent Systems


National Robotics Initiative 2.0: Ubiquitous Collaborative Robots  (NRI-2.0)


CONTACTS
Name Email Phone Room
David  Miller damiller@nsf.gov (703) 292-4914   
Scott  Acton sacton@nsf.gov (703) 292-2124   
Radhakisan  Baheti rbaheti@nsf.gov (703) 292-8339   
Jordan  Berg jberg@nsf.gov (703) 292-5365   
Irina  Dolinskaya idolinsk@nsf.gov (703) 292-7078   
James  Donlon jdonlon@nsf.gov (703) 292-8074   
Ephraim  P. Glinert eglinert@nsf.gov (703) 292-8930   
Wu  He wuhe@nsf.gov (703) 292-7593   
Tatiana  Korelsky tkorelsk@nsf.gov (703) 292-8930   
Bruce  Kramer bkramer@nsf.gov (703) 292-5348   
Frederick  M. Kronz fkronz@nsf.gov (703) 292-7283   
Wendy  Nilsen wnilsen@nsf.gov (703) 292-2568   
Erion  Plaku eplaku@nsf.gov (703) 292-8695   
Robert  Scheidt rscheidt@nsf.gov 703-292-2477   
Ralph  Wachter rwachter@nsf.gov (703) 292-8950   
Jie  Yang jyang@nsf.gov (703) 292-4768   


PROGRAM GUIDELINES

Solicitation  20-522

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 19-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after February 25, 2019. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 19-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.


DUE DATES

Full Proposal Window

    February 12, 2020 - February 26, 2020


SYNOPSIS

The NRI-2.0 program builds upon the original National Robotics Initiative (NRI) program to support fundamental research in the United States that will accelerate the development and use of collaborative robots (co-robots). A co-robot is a robot whose main purpose is to work with people or other robots to accomplish a goal.  An ideal co-robot is an adaptable partner, not limited to a narrow set of specified interactions or functions, but able to significantly enhance team performance despite changes in its role, its teammates, or the team’s collective goals. The focus of the NRI-2.0 program is on ubiquity, which in this context means seamless integration of co-robots to assist humans in every aspect of life.

The program supports four main research themes that are envisioned to advance the goal of ubiquitous co-robots: scalabilitycustomizabilitylowering barriers to entry, and societal impact, including human safety. Topics addressing scalability include how robots can collaborate effectively with orders of magnitude more humans or other robots than is handled by the current state of the art; how robots can perceive, plan, act, and learn in uncertain, real-world environments, especially in a distributed fashion; and how to facilitate large-scale, safe, robust and reliable operation of robots in complex environments. Customizability includes how to enable co-robots to adapt to specific different tasks, environments, or people, with minimal modification to hardware and software; how robots can personalize their interactions with people; and how robots can communicate naturally with humans, both verbally and non-verbally. Topics in lowering barriers to entry should focus on lowering the barriers for conducting fundamental robotics research and research on integrated robotics application. This may include development of open-source co-robot hardware and software, as well as widely-accessible testbeds. Outreach or using robots in educational programs do not, by themselves, lower the barriers to entry for robotics research. Topics in societal impact include fundamental research to establish and infuse robotics into educational curricula, advance the robotics workforce through education pathways, and explore the social, economic, ethical, security, and legal implications of our future with ubiquitous collaborative robots.

Collaboration between academic, industry, non-profit, and other organizations is encouraged to establish better linkages between fundamental science and engineering and technology development, deployment, and use.

The NRI-2.0 program is supported by multiple agencies of the federal government including the National Science Foundation (NSF), the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), and the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). Questions concerning a particular project's focus, direction, and relevance to a participating funding organization should be addressed to that agency's point of contact, listed in section VIII of this solicitation.


RELATED URLS


What Has Been Funded (Recent Awards Made Through This Program, with Abstracts)

Map of Recent Awards Made Through This Program

News