Skip to main content
Email Print Share

Division of Physics: Investigator-Initiated Research Projects  (PHY)


CONTACTS
Name Email Phone Room
Krastan  B. Blagoev kblagoev@nsf.gov (703) 292-4666   
Michael  J. Cavagnero mcavagne@nsf.gov (703) 292-2163   
Mark  Coles mcoles@nsf.gov (703) 292-4432   
Jean  Cottam Allen jcallen@nsf.gov (703) 292-8783   
Alex  Cronin acronin@nsf.gov (703) 292-5302   
Keith  R. Dienes kdienes@nsf.gov (703) 292-5314   
Edmundo  J. Garcia-Solis ejgarcia@nsf.gov (703) 292-8890   
John  Gillaspy jgillasp@nsf.gov (703) 292-7173   
Saul  Gonzalez Martirena sgonzale@nsf.gov (703) 292-2093   
Vyacheslav (Slava)  Lukin vlukin@nsf.gov (703) 292-7382   
Pedro  Marronetti pmarrone@nsf.gov (703) 292-7372   
Kathleen  McCloud kmccloud@nsf.gov (703) 292-8236   
Bogdan  Mihaila bmihaila@nsf.gov (703) 292-8235   
Allena  K. Opper aopper@nsf.gov (703) 292-8958   
James  Shank jshank@nsf.gov (703) 292-8343   
Stephen  H. Southworth stsouthw@nsf.gov (703) 292-5043   
James  Whitmore jwhitmor@nsf.gov (703) 292-8908   


PROGRAM GUIDELINES

Solicitation  17-561

Important Information for Proposers

ATTENTION: Proposers using the Collaborators and Other Affiliations template for more than 10 senior project personnel will encounter proposal print preview issues. Please see the Collaborators and Other Affiliations Information website for updated guidance.

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 17-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after January 30, 2017. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 17-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.


DUE DATES

Full Proposal Deadline Date

    December 7, 2017

    First Thursday in December, Annually Thereafter

        Elementary Particle Physics - Theory; Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology - Theory; Quantum Information Science

    October 31, 2018

    Last Wednesday in October, Annually Thereafter

        Atomic, Molecular & Optical Physics - Expt & Theory; Elementary Particle Physics - Expt; Gravitational Physics - Expt & Theory; Integrative Activities in Physics; LIGO Research Support; Particle Astrophysics - Expt; Physics of Living Systems

    November 14, 2018

    Second Wednesday in November, Annually Thereafter

        Nuclear Physics - Experiment and Theory


SYNOPSIS

The Division of Physics (PHY) supports physics research and the preparation of future scientists in the nation’s colleges and universities across a broad range of physics disciplines that span scales of space and time from the largest to the smallest and the oldest to the youngest.  The Division is comprised of disciplinary programs covering experimental and theoretical research in the following major subfields of physics: Accelerator Science; Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics; Computational Physics; Elementary Particle Physics; Gravitational Physics; Integrative Activities in Physics; Nuclear Physics; Particle Astrophysics; Physics of Living Systems; Plasma Physics (supported under a separate solicitation); and Quantum Information Science.

Additional Information

The Physics Division strongly encourages single proposal submission for possible co-review rather than multiple submissions of proposals with slight differences to several programs.

What Has Been Funded (Recent Awards Made Through This Program, with Abstracts)

Map of Recent Awards Made Through This Program