Division of Physics: Investigator-Initiated Research Projects  (PHY)


CONTACTS
Name Email Phone Room
Krastan  B. Blagoev kblagoev@nsf.gov (703) 292-4666   
Anthony  G. Calamai acalamai@nsf.gov (703) 292-4594   
Mark  Coles mcoles@nsf.gov (703) 292-4432   
Alex  Cronin acronin@nsf.gov (703) 292-5302   
Keith  R. Dienes kdienes@nsf.gov (703) 292-5314   
Robert  Forrey rforrey@nsf.gov (703) 292-5199   
Julio  R. Gea-Banacloche jgeabana@nsf.gov (703) 292-7936   
John  Gillaspy jgillasp@nsf.gov (703) 292-7173   
Darren  Grant dgrant@nsf.gov (703) 292-8977   
Kevin  Jones kejones@nsf.gov (703) 292-7732   
Jose  Lopez joslopez@nsf.gov (703) 292-2319   
Vyacheslav (Slava)  Lukin vlukin@nsf.gov (703) 292-7382   
Pedro  Marronetti pmarrone@nsf.gov (703) 292-7372   
Kathleen  McCloud kmccloud@nsf.gov (703) 292-8236   
Bogdan  Mihaila bmihaila@nsf.gov (703) 292-8235   
Allena  K. Opper aopper@nsf.gov (703) 292-8958   
James  T. Shank jshank@nsf.gov (703) 292-4516   
James  H. Thomas jhthomas@nsf.gov (703) 292-2911   


PROGRAM GUIDELINES

Solicitation  21-593

Important Information for Proposers

A revised version of the NSF Proposal & Award Policies & Procedures Guide (PAPPG) (NSF 22-1), is effective for proposals submitted, or due, on or after October 4, 2021. Please be advised that, depending on the specified due date, the guidelines contained in NSF 22-1 may apply to proposals submitted in response to this funding opportunity.


DUE DATES

Full Proposal Deadline Date

    November 15, 2021

    Third Monday in November, Annually Thereafter

        Plasma Physics - Refer to Solicitation for Applicable Deadline

    November 24, 2021

    Fourth Wednesday in November, Annually Thereafter

        AMO - Theory and Experiment; Gravitational Physics - Theory and Experiment; LIGO Research Support; Integrative Activities in Physics - Refer to Solicitation for Applicable Deadline

    December 7, 2021

    First Tuesday in December, Annually Thereafter

        Nuclear Physics - Theory and Experiment; Elementary Particle Physics - Experiment; Particle Astrophysics - Experiment - Refer to Solicitation for Applicable Deadline

    December 14, 2021

    Second Tuesday in December, Annually Thereafter

        Elementary Particle Physics - Theory; Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology – Theory; Quantum Information Science; Physics of Living Systems - Refer to Solicitation for Applicable Deadline


SYNOPSIS

The Division of Physics (PHY) supports physics research and the preparation of future scientists in the nation’s colleges and universities across a broad range of physics disciplines that span scales of space and time from the largest to the smallest and the oldest to the youngest.  The Division is comprised of disciplinary programs covering experimental and theoretical research in the following major subfields of physics: Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics; Elementary Particle Physics; Gravitational Physics; Integrative Activities in Physics; Nuclear Physics; Particle Astrophysics; Physics at the Information Frontier; Physics of Living Systems; Plasma Physics; and Quantum Information Science. Principal Investigators (PIs) are encouraged to consider including specific efforts to increase diversity of the physics community and broaden participation of under-represented groups in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM). 

Additional Information

The Division of Physics strongly encourages single proposal submission for possible co-review rather than submission of multiple related proposals to several programs.

PIs considering submitting more than one proposal to this solicitation, or who already have an active PHY award, are encouraged to first consult with the relevant program officer(s) before preparing a new proposal. This does not apply to awards from or submissions to the MRI, REU, and/or center programs, or in cases of renewal proposals.

Due Dates

Full Proposal Deadline(s) (due by 5 p.m. submitter’s local time):

Program(s)

Deadline

Plasma Physics

Third Monday in November, e.g. November 15, 2021

AMO – Theory and Experiment

Gravitational Physics – Theory and Experiment

LIGO Research Support

Integrative Activities in Physics

Fourth Wednesday in November,

e.g. November 24, 2021

Nuclear Physics – Theory and Experiment

Elementary Particle Physics – Experiment

Particle Astrophysics – Experiment

First Tuesday in December, e.g. December 07, 2021

Elementary Particle Physics – Theory

Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology – Theory

Physics of Living Systems

Quantum Information Science

Second Tuesday in December,

e.g. December 14, 2021

What Has Been Funded (Recent Awards Made Through This Program, with Abstracts)

Map of Recent Awards Made Through This Program

News