

National Science Foundation Division of Ocean Sciences

## MEMORANDUM

DATE:	13 September 2023
то:	File
FROM:	Dr. Alexandra R. Isern, Assistant Director, GEO/OAD
SUBJECT:	Selection of OCE's Ocean and Marine Geoscience Sections COV Members

The credibility of the COV mechanism rests, in large measure, on the selection of independent experts who provide balanced and impartial assessments to NSF.

The COV represented a broad segment of disciplines consistent with the scope of the activities for which the Ocean (OS) and Marine Geoscience (MGS) Sections have oversight responsibilities. The committee contained expertise in marine chemical, physical, geological, and biological sciences. The diverse committee included six women and three men, representation from geographically diverse regions including two EPSCoR states, one individual from an underrepresented minority, one from a non-R1/primarily undergraduate institution, and three individuals that have not had OS or MGS support in the last five years. Dr. Mary-Louise Timmermans, previously of AC OPP, represented the newly broadened AC GEO. Dr. Carol Arnosti served as the chair of the COV and will report the findings and recommendations to the Advisory Committee for Geosciences.

COV members were not allowed access to any jackets or to participate in specific program discussions with which they had a conflict.

Member	Institution/Organization	Sub-Area
Carol Arnosti	University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill	Chemical Oceanography
Amina Schartup	Scripps Institution of Oceanography	Chemical Oceanography
Pete Raymond	Yale University	Chemical Oceanography
Erika McPhee-Shaw	Western Washington University	Physical Oceanography
Mary-Louise Timmermans†	Yale University	Physical Oceanography
Andrew Goodliffe	University of Alabama	Marine Geology & Geophysics
Tim Herbert	Brown University	Marine Geology & Geophysics
Naomi Levine	University of Southern California	Biological Oceanography
Rebecca Vega Thurber *COV Chair, † AC GEO Member	Oregon State University	Biological Oceanography

COV members present during the meeting were: