Skip to main content
Email Print Share

Advisory Committee for Polar Programs Members

Dr. W. Berry Lyons | Bio
Director, School of Earth Sciences
Research Scientist, Byrd Polar Research Center
The Ohio State University
275 Mendenhall Lab
125 South Oval Mall
Columbus, Ohio 43210
Phone: 614-688-3241
lyons.142@osu.edu
Term expires fall 2018

Mr. Raymond V. Arnaudo | Bio
Department of State (Ret.)
Square du Val de la Cambre 23
Brussels 1050 Belgium
Phone: +32-2-223-0224
arnaudorv@gmail.com
Term expires fall 2020

Dr. Stephanie Brachfeld | Bio
Acting Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
College of Science and Mathematics
Center for Environmental & Life Sciences, 206A
Montclair State University
1 Normal Ave
Montclair, NJ 07043
973-655-5129
brachfelds@mail.montclair.edu
Term expires fall 2018

Dr. John J. Cassano | Bio
Associate Professor
Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences
University of Colorado at Boulder
311 UCB
4001 Discovery Dr.
Boulder, CO 80309
Phone: 303-492-2221
john.cassano@colorado.edu
Term expires fall 2018

Dr. E. James Dixon | Bio
Professor Emeritus of Anthropology
Department of Anthropology
MSC01-1040, Anthropology 1
University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131
Phone: 505-277-4210
jdixon@unm.edu
Term expires fall 2018

Dr. Mark Flanner | Bio
Associate Professor
2527B Space Research Building
University of Michigan
2455 Hayward Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
Phone: 734-615-3605
flanner@umich.edu
Term expires fall 2020

Mr. Craig Fleener | Bio
Senior Advisor for Arctic Policy, Alaska Governor's Cabinet
State Capitol
120 4th Street
Juneau, AK 99801
Phone: 906-269-3019
craig.fleener@alaska.gov and chizhur@gmail.com
Term expires fall 2019

Dr. Jose D. Fuentes | Bio
Professor of Meteorology
508 Walker Building
Pennsylvania State University
University Park, PA 16802
Phone: 814-863-1585
jdfuentes@psu.edu
Term expires fall 2019

Dr. Patrick Heimbach | Bio
Associate Professor
The University of Texas at Austin
Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences
201 East 24th Street, POB 4.232
Austin, TX 78712
Phone: 512-232-7694
heimbach@utexas.edu
Term expires fall 2020

Mr. Alex Kosseff | Bio
American Mountain Guides Association
4720 Walnut St., Suite 200
Boulder, CO 80301
Phone: 406-551-6489
alex@outdoorsafetyinstitute.com
Term expires fall 2019

Dr. Amanda Lynch | Bio
Professor of Earth, Environmental and Planetary Sciences
Institute at Brown for Environment and Society
Brown University
Box 1951, 85 Waterman Street
Providence, RI 02912
Phone: 401-863-5153
Amanda_lynch@brown.edu
Term expires fall 2020

Dr. Donal T. Manahan | Bio
Professor of Biological Sciences
Allan Hancock Foundation Building, Room 210
University Park Campus
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA 90089-0371
Phone: 213-740-5793
manahan@usc.edu
Term expires fall 2020

Dr. Jo-Ann Mellish | Bio
Senior Program Manager
North Pacific Research Board
1007 West 3rd Avenue, Suite 100
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-644-6712
joann.mellish@nprb.org
Term expires fall 2018

Dr. Christopher Mossey | Bio
Deputy Director for the Long-Baseline Neutrino Facility
Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
P.O. Box 500, MS 220
Batavia, IL 60510
Phone: 630-840-6444
cmossey@fnal.gov
Term expires fall 2019

Dr. Thomas Neumann | Bio
Cryospheric Scientist
Cryospheric Sciences Laboratory, Code 61
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
8800 Greenbelt Rd
Greenbelt, MD 20771
Office Phone: 301-614-5923
thomas.neumann@nasa.gov
Term expires fall 2018

Dr. Leigh A. Stearns | Bio
Associate Professor
Department of Geology
University of Kansas
1475 Jayhawk Blvd.
Lawrence, KS 66045
Phone: 785-864-4202
stearns@ku.edu
Term expires fall 2018

Dr. Abigail Vieregg | Bio
Assistant Professor
Kavli Insitute of Cosmological Physics, Eckhardt Research Center
University of Chicago
5640 South Ellis Avenue
ERC 429
Chicago, IL 60637
Phone: 773-834-2988
avieregg@kicp.uchicago.edu
Term expires fall 2020

Dr. Thomas J. Weingartner | Bio
Professor
College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences
Institute of Marine Science
115 O'Neill
Fairbanks, AK 99775
Phone: 907-474-7993
jweingartner@alaska.edu
Term expires fall 2020

Dr. Jeffrey M. Welker | Bio
Professor of Biological Sciences
University of Alaska Anchorage
Office EBL 117
707 A St.
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: (907) 786-6110
jmwelker@uaa.alaska.edu
Term expires fall 2018