Skip to main content
Email Print Share

Fulbright U.S. Scholar Opportunities in Arctic and Polar Science

For the academic year 2015-2016, competition for funding opened in February. The Fulbright Scholar Program is accepting applications for a range of awards, including the opportunities listed below:

  • Iceland Award #5254
    Fulbright-Ministry of Foreign Affairs Arctic Scholar (
    This new award is open to academics with a PhD (including early-career scholars), as well as qualified professionals outside of academia. Applicants may propose a teaching or teaching/research project. The selected candidate will teach undergraduate and/or graduate courses, advise students conducting research in his/her area of expertise, and assist with curriculum development. He/she will be affiliated with the University of Iceland Centre for Arctic Policy Studies, the University of Akureyri Polar Law Program, and other programs in the field.

  • Norway Award #5310
    Fulbright Arctic Chair (
    This teaching/research award is open to academics with a PhD and five to ten years of experience and research in the field. The selected candidate will be expected to engage with faculty inside and outside the host institution(s), give public lectures, lead seminars, and supervise Master’s and PhD candidates. Applicants may propose projects at any institution of higher education or research in Norway.

  • Sweden Award #5350
    All Disciplines (
    This teaching, teaching/research, or research award is open to academics with a PhD (including recent postdoctoral scholars), as well as appropriately qualified professionals outside of academia. Applications are sought in all appropriate disciplines, though in light of the U.S. chairmanship of the Arctic Council in 2015, applications focused on the arctic region are encouraged. Applicants may propose a project at any institution of higher education or research in Sweden.

    More information about the Fulbright Scholar Program can be found on our website,, and the complete catalog of awards can be accessed online at As outlined in our Eligibility Guidelines, all applicants must be U.S. citizens at the time of application. The current competition will close on August 1, 2014.

    For further information about specific awards, please contact the program staff listed in individual award descriptions.

Posted: 30 April 2014