Skip to main content
Email Print Share

Recipients of the Fields Medal were announced at the International Congress of Mathematicians.

Front of the Fields Medal

The Fields Medal was awarded to four mathematicians on Aug. 13, 2014, at the opening ceremony of the International Congress of Mathematicians, hosted by Seoul, Korea. The award, given every four years and considered by many to be the most prestigious in mathematics, recognizes outstanding mathematical achievement for both existing work and the promise of future achievement.

Credit: Stefan Zachow

General Restrictions:
Images and other media in the Multimedia in the News section of the NSF Multimedia Gallery are not for use by the public without permission from the copyright owner listed in the credit.

Images credited to the National Science Foundation, a federal agency, are in the public domain. The images were created by employees of the United States Government as part of their official duties or prepared by contractors as "works for hire" for NSF. You may freely use NSF-credited images and, at your discretion, credit NSF with a "Courtesy: National Science Foundation" notation. Additional information about general usage can be found in Conditions.

Also Available:
Download the high-resolution JPG version of the image. (1.1 MB)

Use your mouse to right-click (Mac users may need to Ctrl-click) the link above and choose the option that will save the file or target to your computer.

Related story: Best in their 'Field'