Email Print Share
February 5, 2015

Jupiter and three of its moons

This image shows Jupiter in the center and three of its moons. The picture was taken with an Apple iPhone 6 while looking through a Celestron C-8 orange tube 1976 telescope.

Jupiter has 62 known moons. The most recent moons were discovered in 2003. The planet's four largest moons are Io (eye-OH), Europa (yur-O-puh), Ganymede (GAN-i-meed) and Callisto (kuh-LIS-toe). These four moons are called the Galilean satellites because Italian astronomer Galileo Galilei discovered these moons in 1610.

Credit: Karen Pearce

Images and other media in the National Science Foundation Multimedia Gallery are available for use in print and electronic material by NSF employees, members of the media, university staff, teachers and the general public. All media in the gallery are intended for personal, educational and nonprofit/non-commercial use only.

Images credited to the National Science Foundation, a federal agency, are in the public domain. The images were created by employees of the United States Government as part of their official duties or prepared by contractors as "works for hire" for NSF. You may freely use NSF-credited images and, at your discretion, credit NSF with a "Courtesy: National Science Foundation" notation.

Additional information about general usage can be found in Conditions.

Also Available:
Download the high-resolution JPG version of the image. (247 KB)

Use your mouse to right-click (Mac users may need to Ctrl-click) the link above and choose the option that will save the file or target to your computer.