text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation
design element
News From the Field
For the News Media
Special Reports
Research Overviews
NSF-Wide Investments
Speeches & Lectures
NSF Director's Newsletter
Multimedia Gallery
News Archive
News by Research Area
Arctic & Antarctic
Astronomy & Space
Chemistry & Materials
Earth & Environment
People & Society

Email this pagePrint this page
All Images

Press Statement 06-002
NSF Supported 2006 Physics and Economics Nobel Work

Statement of congratulations by NSF director Arden L. Bement, Jr.

Back to article | Note about images

Nobel Prizes

Nobel Prizes

Credit: Credit: National Science Foundation


George F. Smoot, left, and Edmund S. Phelps, right, two of this year's Nobel laureates.

George F. Smoot, left, is the co-winner of the Nobel prize in physics, and Edmund S. Phelps, right, won the Nobel prize in economics. Both laureates were funded by NSF.

Credit: Smoot (left) credit: Roy Kaltschmidt, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Phelps (right) credit: Diane Bondareff


Email this pagePrint this page
Back to Top of page