Email Print Share

All Images

News Release 17-097

NSF-funded LIGO pioneers named 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics laureates

NSF congratulates physicists Rainer Weiss, Kip Thorne and Barry Barish

This material is available primarily for archival purposes. Telephone numbers or other contact information may be out of date; please see current contact information at media contacts.


The discovery was made using the sensitive instruments of LIGO, in which NSF invested $1.1 billion.

Credit: Nobel Media. III. N. Elmehed

Download the high-resolution PNG version of the image. (1.3 MB)

Use your mouse to right-click (Mac users may need to Ctrl-click) the link above and choose the option that will save the file or target to your computer.