Email Print Share

All Images

Press Statement 18-012

Statement on the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2018

NSF-funded researchers share prize for ‘the directed evolution of enzymes'

This material is available primarily for archival purposes. Telephone numbers or other contact information may be out of date; please see current contact information at media contacts.

illustration of three people

Frances H. Arnold, George P. Smith and Gregory P. Winter win the 2018 Nobel Prize in chemistry. NSF supported Arnold through many awards over the course of three decades, including a Presidential Young Investigators Award in 1989. NSF also provided funding to Smith to encourage students to integrate mathematics and the life sciences.

Credit: Illustration by Niklas Elmehed/Nobel Media

Download the high-resolution JPG version of the image. (487.1 KB)

Use your mouse to right-click (Mac users may need to Ctrl-click) the link above and choose the option that will save the file or target to your computer.