Email Print Share

Media Advisory 04-03

Magnet Lab Chooses New Director

February 9, 2004

This material is available primarily for archival purposes. Telephone numbers or other contact information may be out of date; please see current contact information at media contacts.


Physicist Greg Boebinger of the Los Alamos National Laboratory in New Mexico has been named director of the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory, NHFML officials have announced.

As its name suggests, the NHMFL generates intense magnetic fields for research in a wide variety of disciplines, including physics, biology, bioengineering, chemistry, geochemistry, biochemistry, materials science, and engineering. The facility is operated by a consortium among the University of Florida, Florida State University and the Los Alamos lab and is funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) and the State of Florida.

Boebinger previously served as the director of the pulsed magnet facility at Los Alamos; he succeeds Jack Crow, who was director of the NHMFL since its founding in 1990.

Details of the announcement can be found in press releases issued by the University of Florida and by Florida State University.

The NHFML's web site is at


Media Contacts
M. Mitchell Waldrop, NSF, (703) 292-8070, email:

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency that supports fundamental research and education across all fields of science and engineering. In fiscal year (FY) 2018, its budget is $7.8 billion. NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 colleges, universities and other institutions. Each year, NSF receives more than 50,000 competitive proposals for funding and makes about 12,000 new funding awards.

mail icon Get News Updates by Email 

Useful NSF Web Sites:
NSF Home Page:
NSF News:
For the News Media:
Science and Engineering Statistics:
Awards Searches: