Email Print Share

News Release 05-023

President Names Laureates of the 2003 National Medal of Science and National Medal of Technology

National Medal of Science

National Medal of Science

February 15, 2005

This material is available primarily for archival purposes. Telephone numbers or other contact information may be out of date; please see current contact information at media contacts.

President George W. Bush today named recipients of the 2003 National Medal of Science or National Medal of Technology, the nation's highest honors for science and technology. Honorees will receive the medals at a White House ceremony on March 14, 2005.

The National Medal of Science honors individuals in a variety of fields for pioneering scientific research that has led to a better understanding of the world around us, as well as to innovations and technologies that give the United States its global economic edge. The National Science Foundation administers the award, established by Congress in 1959. For more information about the National Medal of Science visit

The National Medal of Technology recognizes men and women who embody the spirit of American innovation and have advanced the nation's global competitiveness. Their groundbreaking contributions commercialize technologies, create jobs, improve productivity and stimulate the nation's growth and development. This award, established by Congress in 1980, is administered by the Department of Commerce. For more information about the National Medal of Technology visit

The 2003 National Medal of Science Laureates are:

Behavioral or Social Sciences

  • R. Duncan Luce, University of California, Irvine, Irvine, Calif.

Biological Sciences

  • J. Michael Bishop, University of California, San Francisco, San Francisco, Calif.
  • Solomon H. Snyder, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, Md.
  • Charles Yanofsky, Stanford University, Palo Alto, Calif.


  • John M. Prausnitz, University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, Calif.


  • Carl R. De Boor, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Madison, Wis.

Physical Sciences

  • G. Brent Dalrymple, Oregon State University, Corvallis, Ore.
  • Riccardo Giacconi, The Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Md.

The 2003 National Medal of Technology Laureates are:

  • Jan D. Achenbach, Northwestern University, Evanston, Ill.
  • Watts S. Humphrey, Software Engineering Institute, Pittsburgh, Pa.
  • Robert M. Metcalfe, Polaris Venture Partners, Waltham, Mass.
  • Team of: Rodney D. Bagley, retired – Corning Incorporated, Corning, N.Y., Irwin Lachman, retired – Corning Incorporated, Corning, N.Y., Ronald M. Lewis, former employee - Corning Incorporated, Corning, N.Y.
  • UOP LLC, Des Plaines, Ill.
  • Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation, Madison, Wis.


Media Contacts
William C. Noxon, NSF, (703) 292-7750, email:

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency that supports fundamental research and education across all fields of science and engineering. In fiscal year (FY) 2019, its budget is $8.1 billion. NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 colleges, universities and other institutions. Each year, NSF receives more than 50,000 competitive proposals for funding and makes about 12,000 new funding awards.

mail icon Get News Updates by Email 

Useful NSF Web Sites:
NSF Home Page:
NSF News:
For the News Media:
Science and Engineering Statistics:
Awards Searches: