Skip to main content
Email Print Share

News From the Field

Three NSF-funded Biologists Receive Prestigious MacArthur Fellowships

September 27, 2007

macarthur fellows Three National Science Foundation-funded biologists are among the 25 MacArthur Fellows for 2007: 1) Michael Elowitz, a molecular biologist at the California Institute of Technology; 2) Cheryl Hayashi, a spider silk biologist at the University of California, Riverside; and 3) Claire Kremen, a conservation biologist at the University of California, Berkely. Commonly known as the "genius award," the MacArthur Fellowship is one of the most prestigious awards in the nation. Full Story

The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency that supports fundamental research and education across all fields of science and engineering. In fiscal year (FY) 2016, its budget is $7.5 billion. NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 colleges, universities and other institutions. Each year, NSF receives more than 48,000 competitive proposals for funding and makes about 12,000 new funding awards. NSF also awards about $626 million in professional and service contracts yearly.

 Get News Updates by Email 

Useful NSF Web Sites:
NSF Home Page:
NSF News:
For the News Media:
Science and Engineering Statistics:
Awards Searches: