Email Print Share

News Release 10-076

NSB and NSF Recognize Extraordinary Science, Service with Annual Awards

Vannevar Bush Award, Waterman Award and Public Service Awards made as National Science Foundation and National Science Board celebrate 60th anniversary

2010 winners of NSB and NSF annual awards.

This year's awardees join NSF Director Arden Bement (fourth from left) for the awards dinner.

May 6, 2010

View video interviews with the 2010 science and service NSB/NSF awardees Bruce Alberts, Nalini Nadkarni, Subhash Khot, and Stacey Roberts-Ohr of The EYH Network.

This material is available primarily for archival purposes. Telephone numbers or other contact information may be out of date; please see current contact information at media contacts.

President Barack Obama sent warm greetings to top scientists, engineers and policy makers who gathered on May 5th at the annual awards dinner of the National Science Foundation (NSF) and the National Science Board (NSB) to pay tribute to the achievements and public service contributions of outstanding scientists, and to recognize a program that inspires and engages young girls to enter the fields of science and engineering.

After welcoming remarks, NSB Chairman Steven Beering invited to the podium John Holdren, director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy and science advisor to the President, who extended his own wishes for the NSF and NSB on their sixtieth anniversary. He noted that earlier in the day, the House of Representatives passed a resolution sponsored by Science and Technology Committee Chairman Bart Gordon and Ranking Minority Member Ralph Hall, paying tribute to the NSF and NSB on this historic occasion.

Holdren then shared with the 250-member audience a letter from President Obama in which he acknowledged the important contributions of the evening's hosts.

"Since their creation in 1950, NSF and NSB have provided invaluable service to our nation by supporting world-class scientific research and providing impartial advice to Presidents and Congress," the President said. "From bolstering our national security to supporting science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education in our schools, they have upheld NSF's founding mission to promote American innovation and drive our economic progress."

Promoting STEM education was a theme echoed throughout the evening, beginning with the presentation of the NSB's Vannevar Bush Award to Bruce Alberts "for his dedication to the creativity, openness and tolerance that define science; passion for improving the human condition; and transformational and inspirational leadership in science education, international capacity building, and the tireless pursuit of a 'scientific temperament' for the world."

Alberts spoke appreciatively and fondly of his first NSF grant in the amount of $2,400 received in 1967, which began his career. Today a prominent biochemist and editor-in-chief of Science, he outlined his active commitment to dual passions: the improvement of science and mathematics education, and science diplomacy. In just three days, Alberts, a United States Science Envoy, will travel to Indonesia.

NSF Director Arden L. Bement presented the highest honor conferred by the NSF, the Alan T. Waterman Award, to Subhash Khot, an associate professor in the computer science department at New York University's Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences.

Bement referenced great thinkers in praising the young Khot.

"Einstein once said that 'Pure mathematics is, in its way, the poetry of logical ideas.' If we accept that to be true--and who are we to argue?--then it can be truly said that Dr. Khot is not only a mathematician, but a poet of the first order," said Bement. "Aristotle himself observed that, 'the mathematical sciences particularly exhibit order, symmetry and limitation; and these are the greatest forms of the beautiful.' And so it is entirely fitting that, in nominating Dr. Khot for this prestigious award, someone remarked, 'His work is beautiful technically, as well as producing beautiful results.'"

In accepting this award, Khot, a theoretical computer scientist who works in an area called "computational complexity," spoke of his origins in a remote town in India, and put his work in a practical context, describing his development of algorithms that optimize the efficiency of such modern-day conveniences as online driving directions.

NSB's Honorary Awards Chairman Ray Bowen then presented the NSB's Public Service Awards, which are given each year to an individual and to an organization.  Nalini Nadkarni, a pioneer in forest ecology studies and public outreach and a faculty member at Evergreen State College, was honored "for her groundbreaking research in forest canopy science, and for her outstanding and unique achievements in public service in science through forging connections with the general public and involving non-traditional audiences in her scientific research. Nadkarni who explores the nexus of science and art, drawing on rappers, poets and other performers for creative communication, compared receiving this award to a "still point"--when dancers momentarily stop movement to assess where they've been and where they're going. She vowed to continue the work about which she's been passionate since receiving her first NSF grant in 1984.

The Expanding Your Horizons Network was then honored "for its decades-long commitment to the early development of interest in mathematics and science among young women, making significant strides toward its goal to develop a pool of qualified women to undertake careers in mathematics, science and engineering." Rachel Sheinbein, president of this grassroots organization led by STEM professionals, accepted the award on behalf of EYH and the 800,000 girls whom it has served since its founding in 1974.

NSF and the NSB encourage nominations for its 2011 awards. Additional information is available at the "Related Websites" listed below.

The NSB is the 25-member policymaking body for the National Science Foundation and advisory body to the President and Congress on science and engineering issues. Drawn from universities and industry, and representing a variety of science and engineering disciplines and geographic areas, NSB members are selected for their eminence in research, education, or public service, and records of distinguished service. The NSB has 24 members that serve six-year terms. The 25th member is the NSF Director, an ex officio member of the NSB. For more background on the NSB and its current composition, visit: its website.


Media Contacts
Lisa-Joy Zgorski, NSF, (703) 292-8311, email:

Program Contacts
Blane Dahl, NSF / NSB, (703) 292-2234, email:
Mayra N. Montrose, NSF, (703) 292-4757, email:
Jennifer L. Richards, NSF / NSB, (703) 292-4521, email:

The U.S. National Science Foundation propels the nation forward by advancing fundamental research in all fields of science and engineering. NSF supports research and people by providing facilities, instruments and funding to support their ingenuity and sustain the U.S. as a global leader in research and innovation. With a fiscal year 2023 budget of $9.5 billion, NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 colleges, universities and institutions. Each year, NSF receives more than 40,000 competitive proposals and makes about 11,000 new awards. Those awards include support for cooperative research with industry, Arctic and Antarctic research and operations, and U.S. participation in international scientific efforts.

mail icon Get News Updates by Email 

Connect with us online
NSF website:
NSF News:
For News Media:
Awards database:

Follow us on social