Email Print Share

Media Advisory 14-011

National Science Board to meet May 6-7, 2014, in Arlington, Va.

Highlights of open sessions include presentations by this year’s honorary awardees: Richard Tapia, Arthur Caplan, and the AAAS Science & Policy Fellowships Program

NSB logo

The National Science Board will meet in Arlington, Va., May 6-7.

May 2, 2014

This material is available primarily for archival purposes. Telephone numbers or other contact information may be out of date; please see current contact information at media contacts.

The National Science Board (NSB) will meet May 6-7, 2014, to address science and engineering policy of interest to the National Science Foundation (NSF). Members of the media and the public are invited to public portions of the meeting. The meeting will also be webcast please note, this link is not yet "live").

Highlights include:

Tuesday, May 6, 2014 (Room 1235):

8:00 - 8:05 a.m.Chairman's Introduction
8:05 - 10:15 a.m.

Committee on Programs and Plans

  • National Solar Observatory
  • DMR Briefing on NRC Magnet Science report
  • GEO Vision: Strategic planning in the Geosciences
10:30 - 11:30 a.m.

Committee on Audit and Oversight

  • FY 2013 NSF Merit Review Report
11:30 a.m. - 12:10 p.m.

Plenary Open

  • Presentation by NSB Group Public Service Awardee: Cynthia Robinson for the AAAS Science and Technology Fellowships Program
  • Presentation by Vannevar Bush Awardee: Dr. Richard Tapia
1:00 - 1:40 p.m.

CSB Subcommittee on Facilities

  • Discussion of proposed FY 2013 APR recommendations
  • Discussion of Facility Plan draft templates
  • FY 2014 Annual Portfolio Review of facilities
2:45 - 3:00 p.m.

Committee on Strategy and Budget

  • NSF FY 2014 budget update
  • NSF FY 2015 budget update
3:00 - 4:00 p.m.

Committee on Science and Engineering Indicators

  • Update on SEI 2014-related outreach activities
  • Discussion of the companion report to SEI 2014
  • "Digital Indicators" project status update

Wednesday, May 7, 2014 (Room 1235):

10:45 - 11:00 a.m.

Committee on Programs and Plans

  • Polar Issues/Antarctic update
11:00 - 11:20 a.m.

Plenary Open

  • NSB Individual Public Service Awardee: Dr. Arthur Caplan
2:15 - 3:15 p.m.Plenary Open

Visit the National Science Board's public meetings page for the full meeting agenda.

The NSB is the 25-member policymaking body for NSF and advisory body to the president and Congress on science and engineering issues. Drawn from industry and universities, and representing a variety of science and engineering disciplines and geographic areas, NSB members are selected for their eminence in research, education or public service, and records of distinguished service. NSB members are appointed for six-year terms. The NSF director is an ex officio member of the Board. Learn more about the NSB and its current composition here.

Note: Reporters are invited to attend all open sessions, subject to provisions of the Government in the Sunshine Act. All sessions will be held at the NSF headquarters, 4201 Wilson Boulevard, Arlington, Va. Journalists interested in attending and covering the meeting should contact Nadine Lymn at (703)-292-2490.


Media Contacts
Nadine Lymn, National Science Board, (703) 292-2490, email:

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency that supports fundamental research and education across all fields of science and engineering. In fiscal year (FY) 2018, its budget is $7.8 billion. NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 colleges, universities and other institutions. Each year, NSF receives more than 50,000 competitive proposals for funding and makes about 12,000 new funding awards.

mail icon Get News Updates by Email 

Useful NSF Web Sites:
NSF Home Page:
NSF News:
For the News Media:
Science and Engineering Statistics:
Awards Searches: