Email Print Share

News Release 14-097

Best in their 'Field'

NSF-funded mathematicians stand out at International Congress of Mathematicians

Front of the Fields Medal

Recipients of the Fields Medal were announced at the International Congress of Mathematicians.

August 14, 2014

This material is available primarily for archival purposes. Telephone numbers or other contact information may be out of date; please see current contact information at media contacts.

From funding the first woman to be awarded a Fields Medal to supporting several other noteworthy honorees, the National Science Foundation (NSF) has invested in some of the world's best mathematical scientists, judging from those recognized at the International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) in Seoul, Korea. The event includes the awarding of the Fields Medal, considered by many to be the most prestigious in mathematics.

This year, six NSF-funded researchers were recognized for their work and contributions to mathematics.

Of the four recipients of this year's Fields Medal, two are based in the U.S. and both are supported by NSF's Directorate of Mathematical and Physical Sciences: Manjul Bhargava of Princeton University and Maryam Mirzakhani of Stanford University. Mirzakhani is the first woman ever to achieve this honor.

Additionally, the winner of the Carl Friedrich Gauss Prize for outstanding mathematical contributions with significant impact outside of mathematics went to NSF-supported researcher Stanley Osher of University of California, Los Angeles.

The Chern Medal, which is awarded to an individual whose accomplishments warrant the highest level of recognition for outstanding achievements in the field of mathematics, was presented to NSF-supported researcher and educator Phillip Griffiths of the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, N.J.

Funded through NSF's Directorate for Computer and Information Science and Engineering,  Subhash Khot at New York University (and 2010 recipient of NSF's Waterman Award) was recognized with the Nevanlinna Prize for outstanding contributions in mathematical aspects of information sciences.

Lastly, Georgia Benkart, of the University of Wisconsin was recognized as the ICM's Emmy Noether lecturer.

The ICM is held once every four years, and the awards are particularly coveted. The Fields Medal, specifically, is viewed as the premiere award for this field. It is limited to just four mathematicians at any given time and all are below the age of 40.


Media Contacts
Ivy F. Kupec, NSF, (703) 292-8796, email:

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency that supports fundamental research and education across all fields of science and engineering. In fiscal year (FY) 2018, its budget is $7.8 billion. NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 colleges, universities and other institutions. Each year, NSF receives more than 50,000 competitive proposals for funding and makes about 12,000 new funding awards.

mail icon Get News Updates by Email 

Useful NSF Web Sites:
NSF Home Page:
NSF News:
For the News Media:
Science and Engineering Statistics:
Awards Searches: