Email Print Share

Fact Sheet

NSF-funded ACM Turing awardees: A look at 50 years of computing's greatest visionaries

June 22, 2017

This year marks 50 years of the ACM A.M. Turing Award, the highest distinction in computer science, often regarded as the "Nobel Prize of Computing." Since 1966, the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) has recognized on an annual basis individuals who have contributed lasting and major technical accomplishments to computing.

The name of the award recognizes Alan M. Turing, who is often credited as a key founder of the field of artificial intelligence. More than half of the 65 Turing Awardees have been funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) at some point in their careers. These awardees, and their NSF-supported work, have greatly advanced science and society.

The full list of Turing awardees appears below. An asterisk (*) indicates awardees who have received NSF funding.

2016  Tim Berners-Lee*
2015  Whitfield Diffie
2015  Martin Hellman*
2014  Michael Stonebraker*
2013  Leslie Lamport*
2012  Shafi Goldwasser*
2012  Silvio Micali*
2011  Judea Pearl*
2010  Leslie Gabriel Valiant*
2009  Charles P. Thacker
2008  Barbara Liskov*
2007  Edmund Melson Clarke*
2007  E. Allen Emerson*
2007  Joseph Sifakis
2006  Frances Elizabeth Allen
2005  Peter Naur
2004  Vinton Gray Cerf*
2004  Robert Elliot Kahn*
2003  Alan Kay*
2002  Leonard Max Adleman*
2002  Ronald Linn Rivest*
2002  Adi Shamir
2001  Ole-Johan Dahl
2001  Kristen Nygaard
2000  Andrew Chi-Chih Yao*
1999  Frederick Brooks*
1998  James Nicholas Gray
1997  Douglas Engelbart*
1996  Amir Pnueli*
1995  Manuel Blum*
1994  Edward A Feigenbaum*
1994  Dabbala Rajagopal Reddy*
1993  Juris Hartmanis*
1993  Richard Edwin Stearns*
1992  Butler W Lampson
1991  Arthur John Robin Gorell Milner
1990  Fernando J Corbato
1989  William Morton Kahan
1988  Ivan Sutherland*
1987  John Cocke
1986  John E Hopcroft*
1986  Robert Endre Tarjan*
1985  Richard Manning Karp*
1984  Niklaus E. Wirth
1983  Dennis M. Ritchie
1983  Kenneth Lane Thompson
1982  Stephen Arthur Cook
1981  Edgar F. Codd
1980  C. Antony R. Hoare
1979  Kenneth E. Iverson
1978  Robert W Floyd
1977  John Backus*
1976  Michael O. Rabin*
1976  Dana Stewart Scott
1975  Allen Newell*
1975  Herbert Alexander Simon*
1974  Donald Ervin Knuth*
1973  Charles William Bachman
1972  Edsger Wybe Dijkstra
1971  John McCarthy*
1970  James Hardy Wilkinson
1969  Marvin Minsky
1968  Richard W Hamming
1967  Maurice V. Wilkes
1966  Alan J Perlis*

Please note data prior to 1976 may not be complete.

For more information about the ACM Turing Award and awardees, visit


Media Contacts
Kim L. Silverman, NSF, (703) 292-4515, email:

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency that supports fundamental research and education across all fields of science and engineering. In fiscal year (FY) 2018, its budget is $7.8 billion. NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 colleges, universities and other institutions. Each year, NSF receives more than 50,000 competitive proposals for funding and makes about 12,000 new funding awards.

mail icon Get News Updates by Email 

Useful NSF Web Sites:
NSF Home Page:
NSF News:
For the News Media:
Science and Engineering Statistics:
Awards Searches: