Email Print Share

Moore to join Antarctic Sciences Section

October 11, 2019

Robert Moore will join OPP’s Antarctic Sciences Section on Oct. 15 as #Antarctic Astrophysics and Geospace Sciences (AAGS) program director.

Vladimir Papitashvili, the current AAGS program director, will remain with the section, focusing more on the large research facilities, such as the IceCube Neutrino Observatory and cosmic microwave background telescopes, at NSF’s Amundsen-Scott South Pole Station.

Moore, who received his doctorate in electrical engineering from Stanford University is the Preeminence University Term Professor in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at the University of Florida, where he has served since 2007.

Moore’s research interests are in non-linear, energetic interactions in the ionosphere; remote-sensing applications of ELF/VLF wave propagation in the Earth-ionosphere waveguide, including global position, navigation, and timing solutions; both the direct and the indirect effects of electromagnetic radiation emanating from lightning on the lower ionosphere/upper thermosphere, with particular emphasis on measurements in the ELF/VLF frequency range; and applications of ELF/VLF propagation and material penetration.

The U.S. National Science Foundation propels the nation forward by advancing fundamental research in all fields of science and engineering. NSF supports research and people by providing facilities, instruments and funding to support their ingenuity and sustain the U.S. as a global leader in research and innovation. With a fiscal year 2021 budget of $8.5 billion, NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 colleges, universities and institutions. Each year, NSF receives more than 40,000 competitive proposals and makes about 11,000 new awards. Those awards include support for cooperative research with industry, Arctic and Antarctic research and operations, and U.S. participation in international scientific efforts.

mail icon Get News Updates by Email 

Connect with us online
NSF website:
NSF News:
For News Media:
Awards database:

Follow us on social
Twitter: and