Email Print Share

Geoscientist Jessica E. Tierney Awarded the Alan T. Waterman Award

April 21, 2022

Jessica Tierney from the University of Arizona is the first geoscientist to be recognized by an Alan T. Waterman award! Tierney is recognized for her outstanding advances in the reconstruction of past climate change and furthering the understanding of future climate change. Her research focuses on understanding past climate change, with the goal of improving the understanding of what the future holds. She specializes in generating organic geochemical records of paleoclimate, derived from fossil molecules known as biomarkers that are preserved in sediments and rocks.

NSF News Release: Alan T. Waterman Award, the nation's highest honor for early-career scientists and engineers.

The U.S. National Science Foundation propels the nation forward by advancing fundamental research in all fields of science and engineering. NSF supports research and people by providing facilities, instruments and funding to support their ingenuity and sustain the U.S. as a global leader in research and innovation. With a fiscal year 2023 budget of $9.5 billion, NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to nearly 2,000 colleges, universities and institutions. Each year, NSF receives more than 40,000 competitive proposals and makes about 11,000 new awards. Those awards include support for cooperative research with industry, Arctic and Antarctic research and operations, and U.S. participation in international scientific efforts.

mail icon Get News Updates by Email 

Connect with us online
NSF website:
NSF News:
For News Media:
Awards database:

Follow us on social