Text Only Version text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text
Transcoder Skip top navigation and go to page content
National Science Foundation

NSF Announces the Winners of the GRFP "Creating the Future" Video Contest

GRFP Creating the Future Video Contest, GRFP 60th Anniversary

On Dec. 5, NSF awarded prizes to the winners of its "Creating the Future" video contest for Graduate Research Fellows. As part of the celebration marking the 60 years of the Graduate Research Fellowship Program, NSF asked current GRFs to create 90-second videos showing how their research could help shape the future. Judges included former fellows, NSF staff and members of the media. There was also a People's Choice Award, voted on by the public. There were 1,975 votes cast. Winners received cash prizes and had their videos shown during the anniversary event.

The contest winners are:

First prize: Eric Keen, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego
Whales in Fjords: Fin whale habitat use & vocalizations in a developing coastal corridor on YouTube and in the NSF Multimedia Gallery.

Second prize and People's Choice Award: Candy Hwang, Department of Chemistry, University of Southern California
The Secrets of Nitrogenase on YouTube and in the NSF Multimedia Gallery.

Third prize: Erica Staaterman, Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science, University of Miami
Sonic Reef on YouTube and in the NSF Multimedia Gallery

The winning videos are also available at http://www.nsfgrfp.org/general_resources/60th_anniversary/video_contest_winners .

Any opinions, findings, conclusions or recommendations presented in this material are only those of the presenter grantee/researcher, author, or agency employee; and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.