text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation
2017 Laureates
Laureates through history
Physiology or Medicine
Classroom Resources

2013 Laureates


The 2013 Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded jointly to Martin Karplus of the Université de Strasbourg, France, and Harvard University, Michael Levitt of Stanford University School of Medicine, and Arieh Warshel of the University of Southern California “for the development of multiscale models for complex chemical systems.”

>> NSF-Supported Chemistry Laureates

Physiology or Medicine

The 2013 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded jointly to James E. Rothman of Yale University and Randy W. Schekman of the University of California, Berkeley, and the Howard Hughes Medical Institute “for their discoveries of machinery regulating vesicle traffic, a major transport system in our cells.” Thomas C. Südhof of Stanford University and the Howard Hughes Medical Institute also shared in the Nobel prize but did not receive support from NSF.

>> NSF-Supported Physiology or Medicine Laureates


The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2013 was awarded jointly to Eugene F. Fama of the University of Chicago, Lars Peter Hansen of the University of Chicago and Robert J. Shiller of Yale University “for their empirical analysis of asset prices.” To date, NSF has funded 50 researchers who earned Nobel Prizes in Economics.

>> NSF-Supported Economics Laureates

Nobel Prizes - The NSF Connection A Special Report