text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text
Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Foundation

Arctic Science: What We Can Do, We Must Do, Text Slide 3 of 22

Previous Text Slide | Next Text Slide | Index | Graphic Version
divider line

Slide title: Arctic Research Stations – 1881-1884

Slide image: Map of the Arctic showing twelve principal research stations and other auxiliary stations established by eleven nations between 1881 and 1884
The stations are: Cap Thordsen, Bossekop, Sodankylä, Karmakuly, Varna, Ssagastyr, Point Barrow, Fort Rae, Fort Conger, Kingua Fjord, Godthaab, Jan Mayen
Credit: NOAA Arctic Research Office

Slide background image: Polar bear
Slide background credit: Based on photo by Susanne Miller, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Design by: Adrian Apodaca, National Science Foundation

Return to speech | Return to a list of Dr. Bement's speeches.


Back to Top of page