Science and Engineering Infrastructure for the 21st Century


for this reportcommitteensb board membersacknowledment
Last Updated: 09/15/2015

National Science Board

The National Science Board consists of 24 members plus the Director of the National Science Foundation. Appointed by the President, the Board serves as the policy-making body of the Foundation and provides advice to the President and the Congress on matters of national science and engineering policy.

Warren M. Washington (Chair), Senior Scientist and Head, Climate Change Research Section, National Center for Atmospheric Research

Diana S. Natalicio (Vice Chair), President, The University of Texas at El Paso

Barry C. Barish #, Linde Professor of Physics and Director, LIGO Laboratory, California
Institute of Technology

Steven C. Beering #, President Emeritus, Purdue University

Ray M. Bowen #, President Emeritus, Texas A&M University

Rita R. Colwell, Director, National Science Foundation and member ex officio

Delores M. Etter #, ONR Distinguished Chair in Science and Technology, Electrical Engineering Department, U.S. Naval Academy

Nina V. Fedoroff, Willaman Professor of Life Sciences, Director, Life Sciences Consortium, and Director, Biotechnology Institute, The Pennsylvania State University

Pamela A. Ferguson, Professor and Former President, Grinnell College

Kenneth M. Ford, Director, Institute for the Interdisciplinary Study of Human and Machine Cognition, University of West Florida

Daniel Hastings #, Professor of Aeronautics & Astronautics and Co-Director, Technology and Policy Program, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Elizabeth Hoffman #, President, University of Colorado System

Anita K. Jones, Quarles Professor of Engineering and Applied Science, Department of Computer Science, University of Virginia

George M. Langford, Professor, Department of Biological Science, Dartmouth College

Jane Lubchenco, Wayne and Gladys Valley Professor of Marine Biology and Distinguished Professor of Zoology, Oregon State University

Joseph A. Miller, Jr., Executive Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, Corning, Inc.

Douglas D. Randall #, Professor of Biochemistry and Director, Interdisciplinary Plant Group, University of Missouri-Columbia

Robert C. Richardson, Vice Provost for Research and Professor of Physics, Department of Physics, Cornell University

Michael G. Rossmann, Hanley Distinguished Professor of Biological Sciences, Department of Biological Sciences, Purdue University

Maxine Savitz, General Manager Technology Partnerships, Honeywell (Retired)

Luis Sequeira, J.C. Walker Professor Emeritus, Departments of Bacteriology and Plant Pathology, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Daniel Simberloff, Nancy Gore Hunger Professor of Environmental Science, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, University of Tennessee

Jo Anne Vasquez #, Educational Science Consultant, Gilbert, Arizona

John A. White, Jr., Chancellor, University of Arkansas

Mark S. Wrighton, Chancellor, Washington University

Gerard R. Glaser, Acting Executive Officer, National Science Board

# Consultants, pending Senate confirmation




Policies and Important Links


Privacy | FOIA | Help | Contact NSF | Contact Web Master | SiteMap  

National Science Foundation

The National Science Foundation, 4201 Wilson Boulevard, Arlington, Virginia 22230, USA
Tel: (703) 292-5111, FIRS: (800) 877-8339 | TDD: (800) 281-8749

Last Updated:
Text Only
nsf-nsb logo