NSB Logo

National Science Board Hearing
21st Century Education in
Science, Mathematics and Technology

December 7, 2005

Washington, DC
Cannon House Office Building, Room 210
First Street and Independence Avenue, SW

10:00 a.m. Welcome

Warren M. Washington, Chairman, National Science Board
Senior Scientist and Section Head
National Center for Atmospheric Research
10:05 a.m. Opening Remarks

Steven C. Beering, National Science Board
President Emeritus
Purdue University
10:15 a.m. Panelist Commentary

Congressman Frank Wolf
Subcommittee on Science, State, Justice, and Commerce
Committee on Appropriations
Congressman Vernon J. Ehlers
Subcommittee on Environment, Technology, and Standards
Committee on Science
Congressman Sherwood Boehlert
Committee on Science
Congressman Bart Gordon
Ranking Member
Committee on Science
Congressman John Abney Culberson
Subcommittee on Science, State, Justice, and Commerce
Committee on Appropriations
Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson
Committee on Science
11:00 a.m. Roundtable Discussion
11:20 a.m. Panelist Commentary

Tom Luce
Assistant Secretary
Office of Planning, Evaluation and Policy Development
U.S. Department of Education
Donald Thompson
Acting Assistant Director
Directorate for Education and Human Resources
National Science Foundation
11:30 a.m. Roundtable Discussion

11:40 a.m. Panelist Commentary

Cecily Cannan Selby
Affiliated Scholar
Steinhardt School of Education
New York University
Jack Collette
Senior Consultant
Delaware Foundation for Science and Mathematics
David Shaw
D. E. Shaw & Co., Inc.
Robert Tinker
The Concord Consortium
Gerald Wheeler
Executive Director
National Science Teachers Association (NSTA)
12:20 p.m. Roundtable Discussion
12:40 p.m. Panelist Commentary

Mary Vermeer Andringa
President and COO
Vermeer Manufacturing Company
William Archey
President and CEO
American Electronics Association
Alfred Berkeley
Chairman and CEO
Pipeline Trading Systems, LLC
Ronald Bullock
Bison Gear and Engineering
Raymond Cline
Vice President of Innovation Integration
1:20 p.m. Roundtable Discussion
1:40 p.m. Closing Remarks
Dr. Beering

For more information please contact: Ms. Jean Pomeroy at 703-292-7000

Back to NSB Meetings