NSB Logo


National Science Board Hearing
21st Century Education in
Science, Mathematics and Technology

February 10, 2006

Boulder, CO
University of Colorado
University Memorial Center, Room 235 (Student Union)

12:30 p.m. Welcome

Warren M. Washington, Chairman, National Science Board
Senior Scientist and Section Head
National Center for Atmospheric Research

Hank Brown
University of Colorado System
12:40 p.m. Opening Remarks

Steven C. Beering, National Science Board
President Emeritus
Purdue University
12:50 p.m. Congressional Commentary and Discussion

Congressman Mark Udall
Ranking Member
Subcommittee on Space and Aeronautics,
Committee on Science
1:05 p.m. Panelist Commentary

Susan Windels
Colorado General Assembly
Chair, Senate Education Committee
John Evans
Colorado General Assembly
Senate Education Committee
Keith King
Colorado General Assembly
House Education Committee
Randy DeHoff
Colorado Department of Education
Colorado State Board of Education
1:35 p.m. Roundtable Discussion
1:45 p.m. Panelist Commentary

Cindy Stevenson
Jefferson County Public Schools
Cindy Moss
Director of Science, K-12
Charlotte Mecklenburg Schools
Timothy McCollum
7-12 Science Teacher
Charleston Middle School
2:10 p.m. Roundtable Discussion
2:20 p.m. Panelist Commentary
Michael Barnett
Senior Physicist and Educator
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Joseph Heppert
Chairman, Department of Chemistry
University of Kansas
Thomas Smith
Professor of Chemistry and Microsystems Engineering Rochester Institute of Technology
Karin Wiburg
Associate Dean of Research
New Mexico State University
2:50 p.m. Roundtable Discussion
3:00 p.m. BREAK
3:15 p.m. Panelist Commentary
Shirley Malcom
Head, Directorate for Education
American Association for the
  Advancement of Science (AAAS)
Dennis Bartels
TERC Science and Math Learning
Leon Lederman
Fermilab Director Emeritus
Teachers Academy for Mathematics
  and Science
Judith Opert Sandler
Vice President
Education Development Center, Inc.
3:45 p.m. Roundtable Discussion
3:55 p.m. Panelist Commentary
Ruth David
President and CEO
Analytic Services, Inc.
James Von Ehr
Founder, Chairman, and CEO
Zyvex Corp.
Della Williams
President and CEO
Williams-Pyro, Inc.
Robin Willner Vice President
Global Community Relations
IBM Corporation
Michael Miravalle
President and CEO
Dolphin Technology, Inc.
4:30 p.m. Roundtable Discussion
4:40 p.m. Comments from the Audience
6:00 p.m. Closing Remarks
Dr. Beering

For more information please contact: Ms. Jean Pomeroy at 703-292-7000

Back to NSB Meetings