NSB Logo


National Science Board Hearing
21st Century Education in
Science, Mathematics and Technology

March 9, 2006

Los Angeles, CA
University of Southern California
Davidson Conference Center, Embassy Room

* Invited - not yet confirmed.

9:00 a.m. Welcome

Warren M. Washington, Chairman, National Science Board
Senior Scientist and Section Head
National Center for Atmospheric Research

Steven B. Sample
University of Southern California
9:15 a.m. Opening Remarks

Steven C. Beering, National Science Board
President Emeritus
Purdue University
9:30 a.m. Panelist Commentary

Jackie Goldberg*
Chair, Committee on Education
California State Assembly
Mark Wyland
Vice-Chair, Committee on Education
California State Assembly
9:45 a.m. Roundtable Discussion
9:55 a.m. Panelist Commentary

C.L. Max Nikias
University of Southern California
Karen Symms Gallagher
Dean, School of Education
University of Southern California
10:10 a.m. Roundtable Discussion

10:20 a.m. Panelist Commentary

Terry Joyner
Chief Academic Officer
Cincinnati Public Schools
Larry Prichard
Carter County, Kentucky
Todd Ullah
K-12 Science Director
Los Angeles Unified School District
Jerry Valadez
K-12 Science Coordinator
Fresno Unified School District
10:50 a.m. Roundtable Discussion
11:00 a.m. Panelist Commentary

Yvonne Larsen
Chair, Board of Directors
Foundation for Educational Achievement
Willie Pearson, Jr.
Chair, School of History, Technology and Society
Georgia Institute of Technology
Dean Gilbert
California Science Teachers
Jody Priselac
Center X
University of California, Los Angeles
11:30 a.m. Roundtable Discussion
11:45 a.m. BREAK
12:00 noon Luncheon for Invited Panelists and Board Members
1:15 p.m. Panelist Commentary

Priscilla Slade
Texas Southern University
Denice Denton
University of California, Santa Cruz
Rc Saravanabhavan
Dean, School of Education
Howard University
Eugene Garcia
Dean, School of Education
Arizona State University
1:45 p.m. Roundtable Discussion
1:55 p.m. Panelist Commentary

Lillian McDermott
Director, Physics Education Group
University of Washington
Elizabeth Stage
Director, Lawrence Hall of Science
University of California at Berkeley
Herbert Their
Founding Director, Science Education for Public Understanding Program
University of California at Berkeley
2:20 p.m. Roundtable Discussion
2:30 p.m. Panelist Commentary

James Gentile
Research Corporation
Robert Semper
Executive Director
Maria Alicia Lopez-Freeman
Executive Director
California Science Project
Dennis Bartels
TERC Science and Math Learning
3:00 p.m. Roundtable Discussion
3:15 p.m. BREAK
3:25 p.m. Panelist Commentary

Kellie Johnson
Ace Clearwater Enterprises
George Scalise
Semiconductor Industry Association
Andrew Viterbi
Viterbi Group, LLC
3:50 p.m. Roundtable Discussion
4:00 p.m. Comments from the Audience
5:00 p.m. Closing Remarks
Dr. Beering

* Invited - not yet confirmed.

For more information please contact: Ms. Jean Pomeroy at 703-292-7000

Back to NSB Meetings