NSB Logo


National Science Board Hearing
21st Century Education in
Science, Mathematics and Technology

March 9, 2006

Los Angeles, CA
University of Southern California


* Invited - not yet confirmed.

Participant Affiliation
  National Science Board
Dr. Warren M. Washington NSB Chairman
Senior Scientist and Section Head
National Center for Atmospheric Research
Dr. Steven C. Beering NSB Member
President Emeritus, Purdue University
Dr. Elizabeth Hoffman NSB Member
President Emerita, University of Colorado
Dr. Jon C. Strauss NSB Member
President, Harvey Mudd College
Dr. Jo Anne Vasquez NSB Member
Mesa Public Schools (Retired)
Gilbert, Arizona
Dr. Michael Crosby NSB Executive Officer and
Director, National Science Board Office
  California Spokespersons
California Representative Jackie Goldberg* Chair, Committee on Education
California State Assembly
Dr. C.L. Max Nikias Provost, University of Southern California
President Steven B. Sample President, University of Southern California
Dr. Karen Symms Gallagher Dean, School of Education
University of Southern California
California Representative Mark Wyland Vice-Chair, Committee on Education
California State Assembly
Dr. Dennis Bartels President, TERC Science and Math Learning
Dr. Denice Denton Chancellor, University of California, Santa Cruz
Dr. Eugene Garcia Dean, School of Education, Arizona State University
Dr. James Gentile President, Research Corporation
Dr. Dean Gilbert Science Consultant, Los Angeles County Office of Education
Ms. Kellie Johnson President, Ace Clearwater Enterprises
Dr. Terry Joyner Chief Academic Officer, Cincinnati Public Schools
Ms. Yvonne Larsen Chair, Board of Directors, Foundation for Educational Achievement
Ms. Maria Alicia Lopez-Freeman Executive Director, California Science Project
Dr. Lillian McDermott Director, Physics Education Group, University of Washington
Dr. Willie Pearson, Jr. Chair, School of History, Technology, and Society
Georgia Institute of Technology
Mr. Larry Prichard Superintendent, Carter County, Kentucky
Dr. Jody Priselac Director, Center X, University of California, Los Angeles
Dr. Rc Saravanabhavan Dean, School of Education, Howard University
Mr. George Scalise President, Semiconductor Industry Association
Dr. Robert Semper Executive Director, Exploratorium
President Priscilla Slade President, Texas Southern University
Dr. Elizabeth Stage Director, Lawrence Hall of Science, University of California at Berkeley
Dr. Herbert Thier Founding Director, Science Education for Public Understanding Program, University of California at Berkeley
Dr. Athaur (Todd) R. Ulla K-12 Science Director, Los Angeles Unified School District
Dr. Jerry Valadez K-12 Science Coordinator, Fresno Unified School District
Dr. Andrew Viterbi President, Viterbi Group, LLC

* Invited - not yet confirmed.

For more information please contact: Ms. Jean Pomeroy at 703-292-7000

Back to NSB Meetings