Expert Panel Discussion on Preparing the Next Generation of STEM Innovators

August 24-25, 2009

August 24, 8 am - 5:30 pm
August 25, 8 am - 12:45 pm

National Science Foundation Headquarters
4201 Wilson Blvd. Room 1235 (Board Room)
Arlington, VA 22230 (Map)

The current Final Agenda [PDF]

NSB Charge for the Expert Panel Discussion:
The Charge for the Expert Panel is available in PDF format.


Though many current Federal initiatives focus on raising the base-line performance of all students, very few focus on the educational needs of our Nation's highly talented and/or highly motivated students. If properly identified and developed through the education system, these students have the extraordinary potential to become future science, technology, engineering, mathematics (STEM) innovators.

The STEM Innovators discussion will bring together experts from a variety of relevant disciplines to provide input to the National Science Board's thinking in developing recommendations for NSF and the Federal Government to develop the pool of talent that will produce the Nation's future STEM innovators.

The following six panels are scheduled during the two-day discussion:

  1. Cognitive and non-cognitive characteristics of an innovator
  2. Developing STEM innovators through the education system
  3. Informal learning, cyber-learning and innovative education
  4. Identifying under-developed pools of STEM talent and the community role in fostering achievement
  5. The innovation ecology and entrepreneurship
  6. Existing government education programs, program assessment and effective policy design and implementation

U.S. Secretary of Education, Arne Duncan will give the keynote address on August 25 at 8 am. For specific information regarding the panel topics and invited participants, please download the provisional agenda.

Contact Information

For questions regarding the expert panel discussion, please contact Dr. Matthew Wilson, AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellow, National Science Board Office ( or (703) 292-4510).

Panelist Presentations

These are panelist presentations in their original format, exactly as submitted to our office. Contact Dr. Matthew Wilson, AAAS Science & Technology Policy Fellow, National Science Board Office ( if you have trouble accessing these documents.

Dr. Michael J. Cima - Innovation Ecology and Entrepreneurship (1.7 MB PPT)
Dr. Ken Kotovsky - Innovation, Environment and Expertise (3.2 MB PPT)
Dr. David Lubinski - Cognitive and Noncognitive Characteristics of Innovators (10.5 MB PPT)
Dr. Cora B. Marrett - Platforms for Innovation and the Preparation of STEM Innovators (316 KB PPT)
Dr. David F. Lohman - An Aptitude Perspective on Talent: Implications for Identifying Academically Talented Children (47 KB PPT)
Dr. Stephanie Pace Marshall - Preparing the Next Generation of STEM Inovators (533 KB PDF)
Dr. Arthur P. Molella - The Smithsonian's Lemelson Center - Supporting STEM and 21st Century Skills (58 MB PPT)
Dr. Diana G. Oblinger - Informal Learning, Cyberlearning and Innovative Education (6.8 MB PPT)
Dr. Diana Rhoten - Reform 4 Creativity + Innovation (7.5 MB PDF)
Dr. Robert Root-Bernstein - Innovations in the Formal Education of Future STEM Innovators (6.4 MB PPT)
Dr. R. Keith Sawyer - Teaching and Learning for Creativity (4.3 MB PPT)
Dr. Larisa V. Shavinina - How to Develop Innovators: Lessons from Nobel Laureates and Great Entrepreneurs (114 KB PPT)
Dr. Joyce VanTassel-Baska - The State of the Art of Gifted Education (381 KB PPT)
Louis Wasserman - Compiled Perspectives on STEM Education
Dr. Frank C. Worrell - What Role Does Cultural Background Play in Talent Development? (2.5 MB PPT)
Dr. Lea Ybarra - Preparing the Next Generation of STEM Innovators (6.5 MB PPT)

Confirmed Participants

The Honorable Arne Duncan, U.S. Secretary of Education

National Science Board Members (in alphabetical order)
Dr. Arden L. Bement, Jr., Director, National Science Foundation and NSB Member ex officio
Dr. Camilla P. Benbow, Member; Patricia and Rodes Hart Dean of Education and Human Development, Peabody College, Vanderbilt University
Dr. John T. Bruer, Member & Chairman of the Committee on Education and Human Resources; President, The James S. McDonnell Foundation
Dr. Patricia D. Galloway, Vice-Chairman, National Science Board; Chief Executive Officer, Pegasus Global Holdings, Inc., Cle Elum, Washington
Dr. José-Marie Griffiths, Member; Dean and Professor, School of Information and Library Science; Director of Biomedical Informatics, TraCS Institute, School of Medicine, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Dr. Louis J. Lanzerotti, Member; Distinguished Research Professor of Physics, Center for Solar Terrestrial Research, Department of Physics, New Jersey Institute of Technology
Dr. Douglas D. Randall, Member; Professor and Thomas Jefferson Fellow, University of Missouri, Columbia
Dr. Diane L. Souvaine, Member; Department Chair and Professor of Computer Science, Tufts University
Dr. Kathryn D. Sullivan, Member; Director, Battelle Center for Mathematics and Science Education Policy, John Glenn School of Public Affairs, Ohio State University, Columbus
Dr. Craig R. Robinson, Executive Officer/Director NSB Office (acting)

Panelists/discussants (in alphabetical order)
Dr. Michael J. Cima, Professor, Faculty Director Lemelson-MIT Program, Mass. Institute of Technology
Dr. Nicholas Colangelo, Director, Belin-Blank Center
Dr. Diane C. DiEuliis, Assistant Director, Life Sciences, OSTP
Ms. Patricia Johnson, Javits Gifted and Talented Students Education Program, U.S. Dept of Education
Mr. Dean Kamen, President, DEKA Research & Development
Dr. Ken Kotovsky, Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies in Psychology, Carnegie Mellon University
Dr. David F. Lohman, Professor, College of Education, University of Iowa
Dr. David Lubinski, Professor, Vanderbilt University
Dr. Cora B. Marrett, Deputy Director (acting), National Science Foundation
Dr. Stephanie Pace Marshall, President Emerita, Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy
Ms. Zipporah A. Miller, Associate Executive Director, Professional Programs and Conferences, National Science Teachers Association
Dr. Arthur P. Molella, Director, Smithsonian Lemelson Center for the Study of Invention and Innovation
Dr. Diana G. Oblinger, President, Educause
Dr. Diana Rhoten, Director, Knowledge Institutions Program for Digital Media and Learning Project, Social Science Research Council
Dr. Robert Root-Bernstein, Professor, Michigan State University
Dr. R. Keith Sawyer, Associate Professor, Washington University
Dr. Larisa V. Shavinina, Professor, Université du Québec en Outaouais
Dr. Sally Goetz Shuler, Executive Director, National Science Resource Center
Dr. Rena F. Subotnik, Director, Center for Psychology in Schools and Education
Dr. Joyce VanTassel-Baska, Executive Director, Center for Gifted Education College of William & Mary
Dr. Jo Anne Vasquez, VP and Program Director Teacher & Curriculum Initiatives, Helios Education Foundation
Dr. Frank C. Worrell, Professor, University of California Berkeley
Mr. Joshua Wyner, Senior Vice President (policy), National Consortium for College Completion
Dr. Lea Ybarra, Executive Director, Center for Talented Youth, Johns Hopkins University

August 24 Lunch Panel (in alphabetical order)
Richard Li, River Hill High School, Howard County, Maryland, Class of 2010
Elena Perry, Richard Montgomery High School, Montgomery County, Maryland, Class of 2010
Andrew Das Sarma, Montgomery Blair High School, Montgomery County, Maryland, Class of 2011
Louis Wasserman, University of Chicago, Class of 2012
Dr. Alex Wissner-Gross, Environmental Fellow, Harvard University