text-only page produced automatically by LIFT Text Transcoder Skip all navigation and go to page contentSkip top navigation and go to directorate navigationSkip top navigation and go to page navigation
National Science Board
dividing line
Members by Term
dividing line
Chairmen and Vice Chairmen
dividing line
Former Members
dividing line
The Nomination Process
dividing line
Group Photo
dividing line
NSB Staff
dividing line
Contact NSB
dividing line
NSB Site Map
dividing line
Go to NSF  Go to USA.gov

Stephen L. Mayo


  Stephen L. Mayo

Chemistry and Biology
B.S., Pennsylvania State University, 1983
Ph.D., California Institute of Technology, 1987

Stephen L. Mayo is the William K. Bowes Jr. Foundation Chair, Division of Biology and Bren Professor of Biology and Chemistry at the California Institute of Technology. He earned his B.S. in Chemistry at the Pennsylvania State University in 1983 and his Ph.D. in Chemistry from Caltech in 1987. He did postdoctoral work as a Miller Fellow in the Chemistry Department at UC Berkeley. After working for two years at a software company he cofounded (Molecular Simulations, Inc. - MSI), he did additional postdoctoral work in the Biochemistry Department at Stanford University School of Medicine before returning to Caltech as an Assistant Professor of Biology in 1992. Mayo was Vice Provost of Research at Caltech from 2007 to 2010 and began his term as Chair of the Division of Biology in 2010.

Mayo is a recognized leader in the field of protein design. His work at the interface of theory, computation, and experiment is aimed at understanding the physical/chemical determinants of protein structure, stability, and function. Mayo and his coworkers were the first to show that a quantitative description of protein thermodynamics could be coupled with computational search techniques capable of addressing the enormous combinatorial space available to protein sequences. This and related work have been viewed as the harbinger to a complete solution to the inverse protein-folding problem (that is, the problem of predicting amino acid sequences that will fold to specific protein structures). A solution to this problem will have a profound impact on our ability to understand the evolution of protein sequences, structures, and functions, as well as on prospects for continued development of protein-based biotechnologies. In addition to MSI (currently Accelrys), Mayo also cofounded Xencor in 1997, which is focused on engineered antibodies for oncology applications with several biologics in human clinical trials, and Protabit in 2009, which is focused on integrating and developing next generation computational protein design software technology.

Mayo has received a number of honors including being named a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, a Rita Allen Foundation Scholar, a David and Lucile Packard Foundation Fellow, and a Searle Scholar. In 1997 he was recognized for his pioneering work in protein design by being awarded the Johnson Foundation Prize for Innovative Research in Structural Biology. In 2004 he was elected to the National Academy of Sciences. More recently, Mayo was selected for the inaugural class of the Department of Defense's National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellowship program for work focusing on the development of broad-spectrum antiviral compounds.

He was appointed to the National Science Board in 2013.


For more information about file formats used on the NSF site, please see the Plug-ins and Viewers page.

Print this page NSF_NSB Twitter Follow Button Back to Top of page
  NSB Home | Web Policies & Important Links | Privacy | FOIA | Help | Contact NSB | Contact NSB Webmaster | NSB Site Map  
National Science Board
The National Science Board, 4201 Wilson Boulevard, Arlington, Virginia 22230, USA
Tel: (703) 292-7000, FIRS: (800) 877-8339 | TDD: (800) 281-8749
Last Updated:
Jul 30, 2009
Text Only

\ Last Updated: Apr 30, 2009