In Remembrance of Jennie L. Moehlmann (1958-2017)

Jennie Moehlmann

June 15, 2017

The National Science Board Office is sad to report the sudden passing of our dear friend and NSF colleague, Jennie Moehlmann, on June 9. Jennie was born in Linton, Indiana on Sept. 14, 1958. A graduate of Indiana University, she also held a Master’s degree in economics from George Mason University. She is survived by her brother, David Moehlmann of Linton; and her niece, Jessica Moehlmann of Terre Haute.

Jennie joined the National Science Board Office as Chief of its new Policy Branch in November 2008. She retired from public service and relocated to Indiana in 2015. Prior to her tenure in the Board Office she worked as a policy analyst and acting Branch Chief on the NSF budget justifications to OMB and Congress in NSF’s Budget Division. Before joining NSF in 1999, Jennie worked as a House staffer on Capitol Hill for over five years and as Public Policy Director for the American Institute for Biological Sciences.

Those of us who had the privilege to work with Jennie during her time at NSF remember her amazing generosity, fierce loyalty, and terrific laugh. She was allergic to credit for her many accomplishments, preferring that her staff receive the acclaim. Her eagerness to let others shine was matched only by her willingness to take responsibility when our plans (occasionally) went awry. Her quiet, self-effacing leadership engendered the unflinching trust of her staff. We will miss her dearly.

Jennie Moehlmann cat, Ruby


blue line

For more information, please contact;
Nadine Lymn, NSB, (703) 292-2490,

blue line


About the National Science Board

The NSB is the policymaking body for the National Science Foundation. NSB also advises the President and Congress on science and engineering policy issues. The Board's 24 members are drawn primarily from universities and industry and represent a variety of science and engineering disciplines. Selected for their eminence in research, education or public service and records of distinguished service, Board members serve six-year terms. NSF's director is an ex officio 25th member of the Board.


Useful NSB Web Sites:
Home Page:
Honorary Awards: