

<u>NSB-09-49</u> May 14, 2009

MEMORANDUM TO THE ENTIRE NATIONAL SCIENCE FOUNDATION TEAM

FROM: The National Science Board

SUBJECT: Recognition of Exceptional Service to Science and Engineering and the Nation

The National Science Board recognizes that you all are critical to the success of meeting the National Science Foundation's mission. Under normal circumstances you meet the enormous challenges involved in the whole process of funding research and its related activities, and this is often overlooked or not fully appreciated by the broader science and engineering community.

The Board also recognizes that you are now putting forth extraordinary effort to meet the monumental task required to deal with an almost doubling of work load with no additional help. We realize this takes extra dedication - you already are incredibly dedicated to the Foundation's mission. The Board recognizes this effort and we appreciate it and wish to thank you in advance for stepping up to meeting the opportunity the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act funds are providing.

Thank you all.

National Science Board Members

Steven C. Beering, Chairman, President Emeritus, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana

Patricia D. Galloway, Vice Chairman, Chief Executive Officer, Pegasus Global Holdings, Inc., Cle Elum, Washington

Mark R. Abbott, Dean and Professor, College of Oceanic and Atmospheric Sciences Oregon State University, Corvallis, Oregon

Dan E. Arvizu, Director and Chief Executive, National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL), Golden, Colorado

Barry C. Barish,^{*} Ronald and Maxine Linde Professor of Physics, Emeritus Director, Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO), California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, California

Camilla P. Benbow, Patricia and Rodes Hart Dean of Education and Human Development, Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee

Ray Bowen, President Emeritus, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas

John T. Bruer, President, The James S. McDonnell Foundation, Saint Louis, Missouri

G. Wayne Clough, Secretary, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, DC

France A. Córdova, President, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana

Kelvin K. Droegemeier, Associate Vice President for Research, Regents' Professor of Meteorology and Weathernews Chair, University of Oklahoma, Norman, Oklahoma

José-Marie Griffiths, Professor, School of Information and Library Science, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Esin Gulari, Dean of Engineering and Science, Clemson University

Elizabeth Hoffman,* Executive Vice President and Provost, Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa

Louis J. Lanzerotti, Distinguished Research Professor of Physics, Center for Solar Terrestrial Research, Department of Physics, New Jersey Institute of Technology, Newark, New Jersey

Alan I. Leshner, Chief Executive Officer, Executive Publisher, Science American Association for the Advancement of Science. Washington, DC

George P. (Bud) Peterson, President, Georgia Institute of Technology

Douglas D. Randall, Professor and Thomas Jefferson Fellow, University of Missouri, Columbia, Missouri

Arthur K. Reilly, Senior Director, Strategic Technology Policy, Cisco Systems, Inc., Ocean, New Jersey

Diane L. Souvaine, Professor and Chair, Department of Computer Science, Tufts University, Medford, Massachusetts

Jon C. Strauss, President, Bainbridge Graduate Institute, Bainbridge Island, Washington

Kathryn D. Sullivan, Director, Battelle Center for Mathematics and Science Education Policy, John Glenn School of Public Affairs, Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio

Thomas N. Taylor, Roy A. Roberts Distinguished Professor, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Curator of Paleobotany in the Natural History Museum and Biodiversity Research Center, The University of Kansas, Lawrence, Kansas

Richard F. Thompson, Keck Professor of Psychology and Biological Sciences, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, California

Member ex officio:

Arden L. Bement, Jr., Director, National Science Foundation, Arlington, Virginia

Craig R. Robinson, Acting Executive Officer, National Science Board & National Science Board Office Director, Arlington, Virginia