Skip To Content
NSF Logo Search GraphicGuide To Programs GraphicImage Library GraphicSite Map GraphicHelp GraphicPrivacy Policy Graphic
OLPA Header Graphic

NSF Press Release

This document has been archived.


NSF PA 00-4 (NSB 00-107) - May 4, 2000

Media contact:

 Bill Noxon

 (703) 292-8070

Program contact:

 Susan Fannoney

 (703) 292-4518

This material is available primarily for archival purposes. Telephone numbers or other contact information may be out of date; please see current contact information at media contacts.

National Science Board Elects Chairs for Coming Term

Eamon M. Kelly will continue as chair of the National Science Board (NSB) and Anita K. Jones will serve as vice chair, the board announced today.

The NSB is the governing body of the NSF and is made up of 24 industry and academic leaders. Members are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate to serve six-year terms.

The board re-elected Kelly to continue at its helm during biennial elections at the NSB's May meeting at the National Science Foundation (NSF). Kelly, who has served on the NSB since 1996, is President Emeritus of Tulane University and currently Professor of International Development at the university's Payson Center. Jones, who joined the board in 1998, is professor of computer science at the University of Virginia.

Kelly served as President of Tulane University in New Orleans, La., from 1981-1998, and continues to teach economics, Latin American studies, international health, international development and technology transfer. Before his tenure at Tulane, he served leadership positions in the Departments of Commerce and Labor and the Small Business Administration. He also led social development and civil rights programs at the Ford Foundation. He is active on the boards of many professional, philanthropic, civic and corporate organizations. Kelly earned his master's degree and Ph.D. in economics from Columbia University.

Jones has taught computer science at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville since 1988, serving for five years as head of the university's Department of Computer Science. She interrupted her academic career to manage the Department of Defense's science and technology program from 1993-1997. In that position, she advised the Secretary of Defense on the development of technologies to enhance U.S. military capabilities. Jones has served on both corporate and government advisory boards and is a member of the National Academy of Engineering. She earned her A.B. in mathematics from Rice University, M.A. in literature from the University of Texas at Austin and Ph.D. in computer science from Carnegie Mellon University.




National Science Foundation
Office of Legislative and Public Affairs
4201 Wilson Boulevard
Arlington, Virginia 22230, USA
Tel: 703-292-8070
FIRS: 800-877-8339 | TDD: 703-292-5090

NSF Logo Graphic