Skip To Content
NSF Logo Search GraphicGuide To Programs GraphicImage Library GraphicSite Map GraphicHelp GraphicPrivacy Policy Graphic
OLPA Header Graphic

This document has been archived.

NSF Press Release


NSF PR 00-21 (NSB 00-88) - April 12, 2000

Media contact:

 Bill Noxon

 (703) 292-8070

Program contact:

 Susan Fannoney

 (703) 292-4518

This material is available primarily for archival purposes. Telephone numbers or other contact information may be out of date; please see current contact information at media contacts.

Two Statesmen of Science Are First of the New Century to Receive the Vannevar Bush Award

The National Science Board (NSB) has taken the unprecedented step of naming two renowned scientists to receive the coveted Vannevar Bush Award for lifetime achievement in science and public service. This is the first time in its 20-year history that the award is being given to more than one person.

Norman E. Borlaug, a 1970 Nobel Peace Prize-winning agronomist who led the agricultural movement to increase food production in developing countries, is one of the Vannevar Bush honorees. A 1997 Atlantic Monthly profile said that Borlaug's work to expand global food production at a rate faster than the growth in human population "may have prevented a billion deaths." Borlaug will be honored at an NSB dinner May 3 hosted at the Department of State.

Herbert F. York, a nuclear physicist, will receive the other award for his work in nuclear energy and for leadership in the arms control movement.

York's contributions were marked by the merging of scientific advance- ment with public policy that emphasizes social responsibility. He will also be honored at the NSB's May dinner event.

The Vannevar Bush Award pays tribute to a senior statesperson and pioneer in science and technology who has a distinguished record in public service, or whose achievements contribute to the nation and mankind. These century-spanning scientists, whose work covered more than half the century just concluded, are still active.

Borlaug is a distinguished professor of international agriculture at Texas A&M University, teaching graduate students and doing guest lectures. He also spends nearly six months a year near Mexico City as a consultant to the International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center.

Known widely as the "father of the green revolution," Borlaug taught and employed methods to increase wheat production around the world, "saving more lives than any other person who has ever lived," said the Atlantic Monthly article on Borlaug in January 1997. His Nobel Prize in 1970 recognized his contributions to reversing widespread food shortages in India and Pakistan the previous decade.

York is professor and director emeritus for the Institute on Global Conflict and Cooperation located at the University of California, San Diego, an organization he founded in 1983. Over nearly a half century, York's list of firsts put him near the top of the scientific leader board: first director of the Lawrence Livermore Laboratory from 1952-58; co-founder and first chief scientist of the Advanced Research Projects Agency (1958); member of the first President's Science Advisor Committee (1958-61); first chancellor of the University of California at San Diego (1961-64); and member of the First Advisory Committee on Arms Control (1962-69).

York's leadership in designing sophisticated nuclear weapons, then becoming a leading voice in arms control and disarmament, moved the U.S. from responding to a "missile gap" to leading the discussions toward disarmament as a next logical stage in national security.


See also: Fact Sheet on Vannevar Bush Award



National Science Foundation
Office of Legislative and Public Affairs
4201 Wilson Boulevard
Arlington, Virginia 22230, USA
Tel: 703-292-8070
FIRS: 800-877-8339 | TDD: 703-292-5090

NSF Logo Graphic