This document has been archived.

Skip To Content Skip To Left Navigation
NSF Logo Search GraphicGuide To Programs GraphicImage Library GraphicSite Map GraphicHelp GraphicPrivacy Policy Graphic
OLPA Header Graphic

NSF Press Release


Embargoed until 9 A.M., EST

NSF PR 01-103 - December 12, 2001

Media contact:

 William Harms

 (703) 292-8070

Program contact:

 Marilyn Suiter

 (703) 292-5121

President Bush Honors Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentors

President Bush today announced this year's recipients of the sixth annual Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring. Ten individuals and ten institutions are receiving the award for promoting participation among women, minorities and persons with disabilities in scientific and engineering careers.

The awards will be presented Dec. 12 at a ceremony in Washington, D.C.

Among the people being honored is a college professor who served as a mentor working with disadvantaged urban elementary school students and helped inspire many of them to pursue careers in mathematics, science and technology.

A faculty member at another university worked with minority students, encouraging their interest in science, and co-authored scientific journal articles with them. A mentoring program by a professional organization has helped connect scientists and engineers with disabled people eager to pursue scientific and engineering careers.

A university research laboratory established a state-wide program to help minority students boost their achievement in science, technology, and mathematics.

"The president views these programs as essential to our nation's future. All barriers must be removed because research is enriched when the broadest possible range of people participate," said National Science Foundation (NSF) Director Rita Colwell. "Especially at times of national crisis, we need all of our best minds working together to bring science and technology to bear on urgent issues."

The mentoring awards are administered and funded through the foundation and go to people and institutions who work with students in K-12, undergraduate or graduate level education.

Up to 10 individuals and 10 institutions annually may qualify for the national award, which includes a $10,000 grant and a commemorative presidential certificate. The awardees are considered exemplars for others interested in developing similar programs.

The mentoring awards, which have been given annually since 1996, recognize a long-term commitment to providing opportunities for greater participation in science and engineering by all Americans. The awards do this by honoring those whose personal and organizational activities have increased participation of underrepresented groups in mathematics, engineering and science.


Attachment: Recipients of the 2001 Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring

See also:




Earlene Armstrong, University of Maryland, College Park
Pamela H. Dase, Centennial High School, Columbus, Ohio Public Schools
Clinton H. Dixon, Fort Valley State University, Fort Valley, GA
Mary W. Gray, American University, Washington, DC
Judith K. Gwathmey, Institute for Cardiovascular Diseases and Muscle Research, Inc., Boston, MA
Bharati Mehrotra, Tougaloo College, Jackson, MS
Therese Markow, University of Arizona, Tucson, for work done at Arizona State University, Tempe
Max Warshauer, Southwest Texas State University, San Marcos, TX
Melvin Webb, Clark Atlanta University, Atlanta, GA
Theodore R. Williams, College of Wooster, Wooster, OH


Center for Science Excellence Program, Contra Costa College, San Pablo, CA
Department of Engineering, University of Denver, Denver, CO
Maryland Mathematics, Engineering, Science Achievement Program, Johns Hopkins University, Laurel, Maryland
Mentor Net, Department of Engineering, San Jose State University, San Jose, California
National Technical Institute for the Deaf, Department of Science & Engineering, Rochester Institute of Technology, Rochester, New York
Office of Outreach, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, University of North Texas Health Science Center, Fort Worth, Texas
Olin-Yale-Bayer New Haven Public School Science Fair Program, New Haven Public Schools, New Haven, CT
Project on Science, Technology, and Disability, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Washington D.C.
Project SEED and the ACS Scholars, American Chemical Society, Washington, D.C.
Significant Opportunities in Atmospheric Research and Science, University Corporation for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, Colorado




National Science Foundation
Office of Legislative and Public Affairs
4201 Wilson Boulevard
Arlington, Virginia 22230, USA
Tel: 703-292-8070
FIRS: 800-877-8339 | TDD: 703-292-5090

NSF Logo Graphic