This document has been archived.

Skip To Content Skip To Left Navigation
NSF Logo Search GraphicGuide To Programs GraphicImage Library GraphicSite Map GraphicHelp GraphicPrivacy Policy Graphic
OLPA Header Graphic

NSF Press Release


NSF PR 99-34 - May 3, 1999

Media contact:

 Lee Herring

 (703) 292-8070

Program contact:

 Janice Earle

 (703) 306-1613


This material is available primarily for archival purposes. Telephone numbers or other contact information may be out of date; please see current contact information at media contacts.

President Clinton Names Outstanding Mathematics and Science Teachers

President Clinton has named 208 teachers to receive the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST), the nation's highest honor for mathematics and science teaching in elementary and secondary schools.

"In winning this award, these teachers have achieved the equivalent of a winning three-point shot in the final seconds of the NBA championship playoffs," said Rita Colwell, Director of the National Science Foundation (NSF), which administers the award. "Excellence in math and science teaching shapes our children's intellectual development, strengthens our educational system, and advances the national goal to vastly improve the education of our children. We owe it to the students to cherish and honor their best teachers."

Teachers nominated for this award go through a rigorous review process ending with White House approval from the President and the Assistant to the President for Science and Technology, Dr. Neal Lane. Awardees are selected on the basis of the excellence of their teaching, leadership abilities, continuing education activities and dedication as teachers.

The award winners will be given a presidential citation, and their schools will receive a National Science Foundation (NSF) grant of $7,500 to be used under the direction of the awardee over a five-year period. Awardees will also be honored during an event in Washington, D.C., June 6-12, 1999.

Established in 1983 by the White House and administered by NSF, this annual award is given to up to 216 elementary and secondary school teachers representing the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, U.S. Territories and the U.S. Department of Defense school system.


Editors: A searchable list of the awardees is available on the web at:

See also :

From the toolbar on NSF's home page, (, you can sign up to receive electronic versions of all NSF materials (or those of your own choosing). Also see NSF news products at:

NSF is an independent federal agency responsible for fundamental research in all fields of science and engineering, with an annual budget of about $3.7 billion. NSF funds reach all 50 states, through grants to more than 2,000 universities and institutions nationwide. NSF receives more than 50,000 requests for funding annually, including at least 30,000 new proposals.



National Science Foundation
Office of Legislative and Public Affairs
4201 Wilson Boulevard
Arlington, Virginia 22230, USA
Tel: 703-292-8070
FIRS: 800-877-8339 | TDD: 703-292-5090

NSF Logo Graphic