Date: June 24, 2013

To: File

From: Assistant Director for Geosciences

Regarding: Selection of AGS Atmosphere Section (AS) COV Members

The credibility of the COV mechanism rests, in a large measure, on the selection of credible, independent experts who are able to provide balanced and impartial assessments to NSF.

The COV represented a broad segment of the disciplines consistent with the scope of activities for which the AGS/AS Section has oversight responsibilities. The COV contained expertise in Atmospheric Chemistry, Climate and Large Scale Dynamics, Paleoclimate, and Physical and Dynamic Meteorology.

Dr. Louise Kellogg, Chair of the Advisory Committee for GEO (AC/GEO), served as co-chair of the COV and will report the COV's findings and recommendations to the AC/GEO at the Fall 2013 meeting.

There were no conflicts of interest between any COV member and Program Directors in the Section. Members of the COV who were in conflict with specific proposals were denied access to those proposals in the electronic NSF COV system and those proposals were not discussed in their presence during COV plenary discussion sessions.

COV Members included:

Dr. Louise Kellogg, University of California-Davis, Co-Chair and AC/GEO Member

Dr. John Farrell, Co-Chair, U.S. Arctic Research Commission

Dr. Peter Daum, Brookhaven National Laboratory

Dr. Sara C. Pryor, Indiana University

Dr. Mingfang Ting, Columbia University

Dr. Sumant Nigam, University of Maryland

Dr. Curt Stager, Paul Smith's College

Dr. Jean Lynch-Stieglitz, Georgia Institute of Technology

Dr. Cynthia Twohy, Oregon State University

Dr. James Doyle, Naval Research Laboratory