Appendix 1


Chair of Assessment Panel:
    Lt. General William E. Odom, USA (Ret.)
    Director of National Security Studies
    Hudson Institute
    Washington, DC USA
    Professor Mikhael Gromov
    Department of Mathematics
    Institut des Hautes Etudes Scientifiques
    Bures-Sur-Yvette FRANCE
Convenor of Assessment Panel:
    Professor E. F. (Jim) Infante
    Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
    Vanderbilt University
    Nashville, TN USA
    Dr. Darryl D. Holm
    Theoretical Division and Center for
    Nonlinear Studies
    Los Alamos National Laboratory
    Los Alamos, NM USA
Panel Members:
    Professor Huzihiro Araki
    Department of Mathematics
    Science University of Tokyo
    Noda Chiba JAPAN
    Dr. Shirley Strum Kenny, President
    State University of New York at
    Stony Brook
    Stony Brook, NY USA
    Ms. Tanya S. Beder
    Capital Market Risk Advisors
    New York, NY USA
    Dr. Maria Klawe, Vice President
    Student and Academic Services
    University of British Columbia
    Vancouver, BC III CANADA
    Professor Marsha J. Berger
    Courant Institute
    New York University
    New York, NY USA
    Professor Hanspeter Kraft
    Mathematics Institute
    University of Basel
    Professor Lennart A. E. Carleson
    Mathematics Institute
    Royal Institute of Technology
    Stockholm SWEDEN
    Mr. Donald W. Marquardt (deceased)
    Donald W. Marquardt and Associates
    Wilmington, DE USA
    Dr. Albert M. Erisman
    Director of Technology
    Boeing Company
    Seattle, WA USA
    Sir H. Peter F. Swinnerton-Dyer, FRS
    Issac Newton Institute for Mathematical
    Cambridge, England UK
    Professor George Whitesides
    Department of Chemistry
    Harvard University
    Cambridge, MA USA