GPRA Plan    
NSF GPRA Strategic Plan
FY 2001 - 2006



About the NSF

NSF Role

I.  Introduction

II.  Vision and Mission

III.  Outcome Goals

IV.  Strategy


Appendix 1: Critical Factors for Success

Appendix 2: External Factors Affecting Success

Appendix 3: Assessing NSF’s Performance

Appendix 4: Integration of NSF Plans with those of Other Agencies

Appendix 5: Resource Utilization

Appendix 6: Linking the Strategic Plan to the Performance Plan

Appendix 7: Crosswalk of NSF Goals and Programs

How We Operate

Our Attributes

National Science Board

Director's Policy Group


Dr. Eamon M. Kelly (Chair), President Emeritus and Professor, Payson Center for International Development & Technology Transfer Tulane University

Dr. Anita K. Jones (Vice Chair), Quarles Professor of Engineering and Applied Science, Department of Computer Science, University of Virginia

Dr. John A. Armstrong, Vice President for Science & Technology, IBM (Retired)

Dr. Nina V. Fedoroff, Willaman Professor of Life Sciences, Director Life Sciences Consortium, and Director, Biotechnology Institute, The Pennsylvania State University

Dr. Pamela A. Ferguson, Professor of Mathematics, Grinnell College

Dr. Mary K. Gaillard, Professor of Physics, University of California-Berkeley

Dr. M.R.C. Greenwood, Chancellor, University of California-Santa Cruz

Dr. Stanley V. Jaskolski, Vice President, Eaton Corporation

Dr. George M. Langford, Professor, Department of Biological Science, Dartmouth College

Dr. Jane Lubchenco, Wayne and Gladys Valley Professor of Marine Biology and Distinguished Professor of Zoology, Oregon State University

Dr. Joseph A. Miller, Jr., Senior Vice President for R&D and Chief Technology Officer, E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Company

Dr. Diana S. Natalicio, President, The University of Texas at El Paso

Dr. Robert C. Richardson, Vice Provost for Research and Professor of Physics, Department of Physics, Cornell University

Dr. Michael G. Rossmann, Hanley Distinguished Professor of Biological Sciences, Department of Biological Sciences, Purdue University

Dr. Vera Rubin, Research Staff, Department of Terrestrial Magnetism, Carnegie Institution of Washington

Dr. Maxine Savitz, General Manager, Technology Partnerships, Honeywell

Dr. Luis Sequeira, J.C. Walker Professor Emeritus, Departments of Bacteriology and Plant Pathology, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Dr. Daniel Simberloff, Nancy Gore Hunger Professor of Environmental Science, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, University of Tennessee

Dr. Bob H. Suzuki, President, California State Polytechnic University

Dr. Richard Tapia, Professor, Department of Computational & Applied Mathematics, Rice University

Dr. Chang-Lin Tien, University Professor and NEC Distinguished Professor of Engineering, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of California-Berkeley

Dr. Warren M. Washington, Senior Scientist and Head, Climate Change Research Section, National Center for Atmospheric Research

Dr. John White, Jr., Chancellor, University of Arkansas-Fayetteville

**Dr. Mark S. Wrighton, Chancellor, Washington University

Dr. Rita R. Colwell, (Member Ex Officio), Director, National Science Foundation

Dr. Marta Cehelsky, Executive Officer, National Science Board

** Nominee Pending Senate Confirmation