FY 2005 EXECUTIVE STAFF AND OFFICERS

NSF Executive Staff

Office of the Director

Arden L. Bement, Jr., Director Kathie L. Olsen, Deputy Director¹ Thomas Windham, Senior Advisor for Science and Engineering Workforce

National Science Board

Warren M. Washington, Chair Diana S. Natalicio, Vice Chair Michael P. Crosby, Executive Officer

Office of Equal Opportunity Programs

Ronald D. Branch, Director

Office of the General Counsel

Lawrence Rudolph, General Counsel

Office of Inspector General

Christine C. Boesz, Inspector General

Office of Integrative Activities

Nathaniel G. Pitts, Director

Office of Legislative and Public Affairs

Curtis Suplee, Director

Office of Cyberinfrastructure

Deborah Crawford, Director (Acting)

Office of International Science and Education

Kathryn Sullivan, Director (Acting)

Office of Polar Programs

Karl A. Erb, Director

Directorate for Biological Sciences

Mary E. Clutter, Assistant Director

Directorate for Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Peter A. Freeman, Assistant Director

Directorate for Education and Human Resources

Donald E. Thompson, Assistant Director (Acting)²

Directorate for Engineering

Richard Buckius, Assistant Director (Acting)³

Directorate for Geosciences

Margaret S. Leinen, Assistant Director

Directorate for Mathematical and Physical

Sciences

Michael S. Turner, Assistant Director

Directorate for Social, Behavioral and Economic Sciences

David W. Lightfoot, Assistant Director

Office of Budget, Finance and Award Management

Thomas N. Cooley, Director

Office of Information and Resource Management

Anthony A. Arnolie, Director

NSF Officers

Chief Financial Officer

Thomas N. Cooley (Office of Budget, Finance and Award Management)

Chief Information Officer

George O. Strawn (Office of Information and Resource Management)

Chief Human Capital Officer

Anthony A. Arnolie (Office of Information and Resource Management)

NSF Affirmative Action Officer

Ronald D. Branch (Office of Equal Opportunity Programs)

¹ Replaced Joseph Bordogna in August 2005.

² Replaced Judith Ramaley in December 2004.

³ Replaced John A. Brighton in August 2005.

Appendix 2	- NSF Executive Staff and NSF Officers	