Staff Directory

Anne M Johansen

(703) 292-8520
(703) 292-9022
W 8231
Division Director


Dr. Anne M. Johansen serves as the Division Director of the Division of Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences (AGS) at the National Science Foundation (NSF). In this role, she is responsible for developing overall goals and objectives, planning and directing division activities, managing budgets, and representing division programs and interests to senior officials in the government, academia, and industrial sectors.


Dr. Johansen brings a wealth of experience to her position at NSF, having previously served as the Section Head of Atmospheric Sciences since June 2021 and as a Program Officer in the Atmospheric Chemistry Program since September 2019. Her passion for advancing the frontiers of atmospheric and geospace science is evident in her enthusiasm for the new role and dedication to fostering a diverse and inclusive scientific community.


With a strong background in academia, Dr. Johansen has held a professorship in Chemistry at Central Washington University (CWU), teaching and researching in areas such as environmental and atmospheric chemistry. She earned her Ph.D. in Environmental Engineering & Science from the California Institute of Technology (Caltech) and holds M.S. degrees in Material Science and Chemistry from Oregon Health & Science University (OHSU) and the University of Oslo, Norway, respectively. Dr. Johansen's multidisciplinary expertise has resulted in extensive publications and national/international presentations spanning chemistry, geology, biology, and materials science. For her research and students, she secured and maintained funding from various sources including federal entities, state agencies, and private foundations, reflecting the breadth and multidimensionality of her research.