Staff Directory

Lynnette D. Madsen

Lynnette D. Madsen portrait
(703) 292-4936
(703) 292-9035
E 9469
Program Director (on LTPD)


Lynnette D. Madsen joined the National Science Foundation (NSF) in 2000 as the Program Director for Ceramics in the the Division of Materials Research (DMR). She is currently off-site for a sabbatical (Long-Term Professional Development - LTPD). Her areas of expertise include materials, sustainability, clean energy, nanotechnology, manufacturing, diversity, education and partnerships (internationally and with industry). Throughout her tenure at NSF, she has maintained an active independent research program. In addition to MPS/DMR, Dr. Madsen has served in EHR/DGE, EHR/HRD, OD/OISE, and OIRM/HRM.

She received a B.A.Sc. (Elec. Eng.) and a B.A. (Psychology) from the University of Waterloo, an M.Eng. (Electronics) from Carleton University, and a Ph.D. (Materials Science) from McMaster University. Her accomplishments were recognized with a Professional Achievement Alumni Medal from the Faculty of Engineering at the University of Waterloo and an Alumni Gallery Award from McMaster University. She has 2 published books, 3 book chapters/sections, and more than 100 articles; been awarded 3 patents; and delivered more than 125 invited talks. Her research spans epitaxial and pseudomorphic thin films, combinatorial nanomaterials science applied to magnetic recording media, contact formation to silicon carbide, and nanoscale graphite intercalation compounds. Research support has been provided by funding agencies as well as industry (ABB, Siemens and Nortel Networks).

From 1999-2002, she held a visiting/adjunct faculty position at Carnegie Mellon University. Previously, she held a faculty position at Linköping University in Sweden where she was promoted to Docent (Associate Professor), and earlier she held post-doctoral positions at both Linköping University and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. The first decade of her career was spent in industry at Nortel Networks.

Dr. Madsen is a Fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), The American Ceramic Society (ACerS), ASM International, the American Vacuum Society (AVS), Materials Research Society (MRS), and the Washington Academy of Sciences (WAS), and a Senior Member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). NSF has recognized her efforts with two Director Awards, more than a dozen Performance Awards and an Incentive Award for Timely Program Management. She received the 2020 Acta Materialia Hollomon Award for Materials and Society. Additionally, her accomplishments have been recognized by international organizations: the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET), ACerS, ASM International, AVS, MRS, the Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS), and the Women in Engineering ProActive Network (WEPAN), and by national and local organizations: the District of Columbia Council of Engineering and Architectural Societies (DCCEAS), the Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers (SHPE), WAS, and Women in Technology (WIT). She has served as a panelist for the National Research Council at the National Academies, as a Trustee for AVS, on the Board of Directors for ACerS, and as Board Secretary for WAS. Currently, Dr. Madsen serves on the Advisory Board for the Rosalind Franklin Society and on the Editorial Board for Materials today.